Walker Library

Information for Alumni and Community Borrowers

This page answers frequently asked questions about Circulation policies and procedures for MTSU alumni and community borrowers.

Alumni borrowers
Community borrowers
Overdue fines
Lost or damaged books
Loss of borrowing privileges
Payment options
Renewing books
Placing holds on books that are checked out
Recalling books that are checked out
Interlibrary Loan


Alumni borrowers

• Anyone who has received an undergraduate or graduate diploma from MTSU is eligible to be an alumni borrower.
• Your status as an alumna/alumnus will be confirmed by the staff at the circulation desk by using the campus records system for recent graduates or the alumni directory for earlier graduates. If you are not listed in either source you may provide other verification, such as a copy of your diploma.
• Alumni borrowers may borrow up to 10 items. The circulation period is two weeks and items may be renewed one time.
• Only materials from the main collection and curriculum collection may be borrowed. Periodicals and reference materials may not be borrowed.
• Alumni borrowers must present a valid photo ID each time they borrow materials.
• Alumni cards expire each year but may be renewed.

Community borrowers

• Any adult with a valid Tennessee Driver's License or a valid Photo ID issued by the Tennessee Department of Public Safety.
• Community borrowers may borrow up to two items. The circulation period is two weeks and items may be renewed one time.
• Only materials from the main collection and curriculum collection may be borrowed. Periodicals and reference materials may not be borrowed.
• Community borrowers must present a valid photo ID each time they borrow materials.
• Community borrower cards expire each year but may be renewed.

Overdue fines

• Books and other materials borrowed from the Circulation Desk are subject to overdue fines of 10 cents per day.
• Overdue fines are not charged for days that the library is not open.
• The maximum amount charged for any overdue item is $27.
• Fines will not appear in your account until the overdue books are returned.
• Some books that are returned soon after their due date will not incur a fee because of a lag time in computer processing. However, there is no “grace period” for overdue materials and fines may be charged for every day that an item is overdue.

Lost or damaged books

• If you lose a book or damage it beyond use, you will be required to pay for the replacement plus a $20 processing fee. This covers our cost of researching, purchasing and cataloging a new copy.
• When an item is first reported as lost (this happens automatically 90 days past its due date), a default replacement cost of $50 may be charged to your account. However, we make every effort to identify the actual replacement cost for lost and damaged books and are sometimes able to reduce that amount.
• If you pay for a lost item but find it and return it within 180 days of the billing date (or within 270 days of the due date), we will refund the amount that you paid for replacement. The processing fee is non-refundable.
•Items cannot be returned after being in billed status for 6 months (270 days after the due date).
• If you damage a book but it can be repaired or rebound, you will be charged a flat fee of $20.

Loss of borrowing privileges

• If you incur fines of $10 or more you will not be able to borrow additional materials until your account is resolved.

Payment options

• The library cannot accept payments for fines or fees in person. All payments must be made online.

Interlibrary loan

• Alumni and Community borrowers are not entitled to use the Interlibrary Loan services of Walker Library. However, your local public library may be able to assist you.