This page answers frequently asked questions about Circulation policies and procedures for MTSU employees.
Lost or damaged books
Loss of borrowing privileges
Renewing books online
Placing holds on books that are checked out
Recalling books that are checked out
• Faculty and administrators may borrow up to fifty books or other circulating items. The circulation period is sixteen weeks and each item may be renewed twice. Staff may borrow up to 50 circulating items. The circulation period is four weeks and each item may be renewed up to 3 times.
• Reference books: faculty and administrators may borrow reference books for up to one week with approval of a reference librarian.
• Periodicals: faculty and administrators may borrow bound periodicals for one week and current periodicals for one day.
• Popular Reading books: faculty, staff, and administrators may borrow Popular Reading books for 2 weeks with one renewal. Overdue fines are 10 cents per day.
Adjunct instructors are granted the same borrowing privileges as regular faculty except that privileges expire at the end of each academic year. Privileges will be reinstated if the individual is again active as an adjunct.
• MTSU faculty and administrators may designate a graduate assistant, student worker or staff member to act as a Proxy Borrower. The designated individual is able to borrow books and other materials for the faculty member on the faculty account.
• To designate a proxy borrower, the faculty member should complete and sign the faculty portion of the Proxy Student Borrowing Form.
• The student who will act as the proxy should complete their portion of the form and bring the form, their own student ID and the faculty ID to the Circulation Desk to establish the account. After that, only the student’s ID will be needed to borrow materials.
• A processing time of 24-48 hours is required before materials can be borrowed utilizing the student’s ID.
• Student proxies borrow on behalf of the faculty member. The faculty member is responsible for all materials borrowed.
• Please read the complete Proxy Borrower Policy for more information.
• MTSU faculty members may also permit family members (children or spouse) to become dependent borrowers. In effect, the faculty member guarantees the return of materials borrowed by family members. The faculty member should complete the Dependent Borrowing Form and bring it to the Circulation Desk. They will be issued a Dependent borrower’s card to be given to the spouse or child.
• A processing time of 24-48 hours is required before materials can be borrowed.
• When using the card, the spouse will be required to show a picture ID. A child must be accompanied by the faculty member or spouse.
• Dependent borrowers are issued a separate borrower’s account but the faculty member is responsible for all materials borrowed.
• Dependent borrowers are permitted to borrow two books at a time for a circulation period of 4 weeks. One renewal is permitted.
NOTE: Spouses may prefer to get a Community Borrower’s card instead of becoming a dependent borrower of their husband/wife. Any adult with a valid Tennessee driver’s license or other official photo identification showing a residence in Tennessee may become a Community Borrower. The borrowing privileges are the same as for a spouse acting as a dependent but the borrower, rather than the faculty member, is responsible for the materials borrowed.
• Faculty, administrators and staff do not pay overdue fines on main collection materials. They do pay overdue fines on Popular Reading and Reserves materials, and they are financially responsible for lost books.
• Any book that becomes 90 days overdue will automatically be recorded as “Lost” and the patron account will be charged accordingly (i.e., cost of the book plus $20 processing fee). If the book is returned within 180 days of billing, the replacement and processing charges will be removed.
• If you lose a book or damage it beyond use, you will be required to pay for the book plus a $20 processing fee. This covers our cost of researching, purchasing and cataloging a new copy.
• When a book is first reported as lost (this happens automatically 90 days past its due date), a default replacement cost of $50 is charged to your account. However, we make every effort to identify the actual replacement cost for lost and damaged books and are usually able to reduce that amount.
• If you pay for a lost book but find it and return it within 180 days of the billing date (or within 270 days of the due date), we will refund the amount that you paid for replacement. The processing fee is non-refundable.
•Items cannot be returned after being in billed status for 6 months (270 days after the due date). Payment of the replacement and processing fees will be the only way to clear your Banner account.
• If you damage a book but it can be repaired or rebound, you will be charged a flat fee of $20.
• If you have extenuating circumstances, you may initiate an appeal at the Circulation Desk.
• Any library patron who owes library fines or fees of $20.00 or more will be blocked from borrowing additional materials until the account has been resolved.
• The library cannot accept payments for fines or fees in person. All payments must be made online.
At this time the Library does not permit recalls on materials that are checked out to other patrons.
Faculty, administrators and staff must show their MTSU ID to check out books or other materials. No exceptions are made.