If you are having trouble finding your way around Walker Library, these maps may help. Areas are hyperlinked to provide additional information about each department or service.
First Floor - Second Floor - Third Floor - Fourth Floor
Find Books Now: InfoSearch Catalog | NetLibrary online books | All online book collections at MTSU
InfoSearch, MTSU's online library catalog, provides information about the items in our library collections and is the tool to use if you are looking for a book, periodical, or other library item at MTSU. The Infosearch catalog can be used to find any item held at the MTSU Walker Library, the Learning Resources Center, the Howard Music Library, or the Center for Popular Music. InfoSearch can be accessed from any computer with an Internet connection at infosearch.mtsu.edu.
Additional Tutorials:
About the Dewey Decimal System
Call Number Locations in Walker Library
How to find a book or article at another Nashville area library using the ATHENA catalog (2:39)
How to request a book or article from another library (Interlibrary Loan) (2:28)
How to find electronic books online using Netlibrary (2:38)
Find Articles Now: Journal Locator | Article Databases A-Z | Research Guides by Subject
You research may require the use of articles, which may be found online or in the library's periodicals section. Print periodicals are located on the first floor of the library, at the south end of the building. Staff at the Periodicals Service Desk are available to assist in locating materials. The library also has access to a wide variety of electronic resources, accessible from the Find Articles page.
Guide to Finding Articles
How to find the full text of an article in a database (3:30)
How to find a specific article if you already have a citation (2:00)
How to find a specific journal (2:06)
How to link to an article from a database (finding a persistent URL) (2:45)
Using Google Scholar to find articles
Find a full issue (by date) of the historical New York Times
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles...what's the difference? (from Vanderbilt University; hosted by YouTube) (3:11)
Click here to get help now
Need help getting started?
If you're having trouble getting started with your research, our Searchpath tutorial will be helpful to you. Searchpath is a self-instructional tutorial that teaches basic library and research skills. It covers the research process from initial topic selection to citation styles and the issue of plagiarism. You can complete the tutorial on your own time outside of class. Each section only takes about 15 minutes to complete.
How to read a citation (2:25)
Citation and Style Guides
Evaluating Sources You Find Online (By DrPPrice; hosted by YouTube) (5:28)