Walker Library

Finding Articles

Introduction

Journals vs. Magazines

Find an article on your topic

Locate the text of an article

Locate the text of an article

When you locate an article that meets your needs, there are 4 ways that you may be able to find text. 


1)  Some articles are full text within the database.  If this is the case, there will be a link for Full Text, Text, PDF, or something similar.  You may print the article from the computer.  


2)  If there is not full text in the database you are searching, the article may be available full text in another database.  To find out, click on Article Linker, find fulltext, or some similar wording within the citation.

If full text is available, a new window should open displaying the full text of the article.

However, if there is a problem you can click "Go to Article Linker search results" to view the Article Linker search results instead.

 

Follow the Article link to full text to display the article.


3. In the box above, you can also see that the Journal is in the Walker Library Holdings. This means that you can retrieve the article from the print version of the journal, most likely located on the 1st floor of the library in the Periodicals section. Click on the Journal link to make sure. You may copy articles in the copy center on the first floor.

**When looking for an article in print, make sure you have all of the citation information, including year, volume number or month, and page number. This will be at the top of the Article Linker search results.**  


4.  If the library does not own the article online or in print, Article Linker will display a box like this:

If you have time to wait, you may borrow it from another library by selecting the Borrow through Interlibrary Loan link.

If you do not already have one, you will need to follow the directions for setting up an ILL account.  ILL delivery typically takes from 3 days to 2 weeks.