Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878
Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881
Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals, 1797-1904
Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902
Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895
General Interest Christian Periodicals, 1743-1889
Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902
Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878
Religious Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1801-1904
Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885
Full text digitized content of women's-related periodicals, 1733-1891.
Collections: Women's Periodicals of the 18th and 19th Century, 1733-1844
Women's Periodicals of the 19th Century, 1845-1865
Women's Periodicals of the 19th Century, 1866-1891 Detailed description and coverage lists
Indexing for international literary publications, 1920 to present.
Indexes books, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 to the present. It is an excellent resource for researching 20th and 21st century authors and literary trends. No Full Text available
Indexing and fulltext for business literature, 1980s to present.
Local, regional, national and international business news coverage of corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Coverage from 1985-present.
Fulltext multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, periodicals and other reports, 19th century to present.
Academic Search Ultimate is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 13,600 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 9,000. Searchable cited references are provided for selected titles
Formerly History E-Book. Fulltext of scholarly titles in American, European, and Middle Eastern history.
An online collection of approximately 3,700 books of high quality in the humanities. These titles are offered by the ACLS in collaboration with twenty-seven learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and the MPublishing Division of the University of Michigan Library.
The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature. Title List (Excel)
Indexing and fulltext for computer society publications, 1950s to present.
The most comprehensive collection of full-text articles and bibliographic records in existence today covering the fields of computing and information technology. The full-text database includes the complete collection of ACM's publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles
Full text content from American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America. Journals, books, conference proceedings and more.
Annual Meetings Abstracts
Crops & Soils Magazine
CSA News Magazine
Journal of Environmental Quality
Journal of Natural Resources & Life Sciences Education Journal of Plant Registrations
Journal of Production Agriculture
Natural Sciences Education
Soil Science Society of America Journal
The Plant Genome
Vadose Zone Journal
Advertising expenditure information on over 100,000 brands and product categories, major industries and companies across 18 media.. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Ad$pender provides a fast, top-level summary of the multi-media advertising marketplace. This web-based tool spans five years of national summary spending trends, accessible by industry, parent company, and brand. Data is available via customizable reports with easy data exporting abilities to popular spreadsheet and flowchart programs.
Search all the Adam Matthew Digital collection simultaneously.
The Adam Matthew Digital collection includes:
China: Culture and Society
China: Trade, Politics and Culture
Eighteenth Century Journals I-V
Everyday Life and Women in America
First World War
Foreign Office Files for China I-III
Jewish Life in America c. 1654-1954
Literary Manuscripts (Berg)
Literary Manuscripts (Leeds)
London Low Life
Mass Observation Online'
Medical Services and Warfare
Medieval Family Life
Medieval Travel Writing
Migration to New Worlds
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
Rock And Roll
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Socialism on Film: The Cold War
The Grand Tour
The Nixon Years
Victorian Popular Culture: Circuses
Victorian Popular Culture: Moving Pictures
Victorian Popular Culture: Music Hall
Victorian Popular Culture: Sensation
Reference collection of black American musical expression.
African American Music Reference will bring together 50,000 pages of text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music.
The first release includes over 3,900 pages of reference, including a comprehensive set of biographies on the top 185 African American composers, edited by Samuel Floyd, Jr., as well as 5,000 pages of liner notes from Document Records.
The aim of the collection is to bring together a wide range of materials, including comprehensive reference works, leading critical studies, biographies, oral histories, essays, anthologies, and historical works, together covering every genre and form, from Blues and Jazz to Hip Hop.
Complete texts for poetry by African Americans, 1746-1900.
Contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. It provides a comprehensive survey of the early history of African American poetry, from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar, the first African American poet to achieve national success and recognition.
Indexing for journals, books, etc. in agriculture, 1600s to present.
Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, this source provides access to millions of citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses and much more, covering all aspects of agriculture.
Single, integrated, modular platform for streaming video in subject areas including history, dance, education, sports medicine, theatre, and more.
A completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street video titles, including discipline collections in history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women’s studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more.
Indexing and fulltext for journals of the ACS, 1879 to present.
The Publications Division of the American Chemical Society provides the worldwide scientific community with a comprehensive collection of the most-cited, peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences.
Records of the ACLU on free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, immigration, labor, radicalism, and related topics. Includes papers of the Southern Regional Office of the ACLU, primarily in the period 1945 to 1990.
This release contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs. Particular care has been taken to index this material so it can be searched more thoroughly than ever. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. Includes 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor.
Dramatic works from the early 18th century to the beginning of the 20th.
American Drama covers three centuries of rare and modern dramatic works that together have formed the internationally recognized voice that is American theater. More than 1,500 plays are available, from over 500 playwrights.
American Drama 1714–1915 reflects American dramatic writing in all its richness and diversity: plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues and a range of other genres are represented. Major dramatists include David Belasco, Rachel Crothers, Augustin Daly, Clyde Fitch, Edward Harrigan, James Herne, William Dean Howells and Joaquin Miller.
More than 17,500 works of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I.
Titles up until 1900 are sourced from Lyle H. Wright's American Fiction: A Contribution Towards a Bibliography. Titles after 1900 are sourced from the Library of Congress Shelf List of American Adult Fiction and the Geoffrey D. Smith bibliography.
1,000 film scripts with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts.
1,000 film scripts opening an exploration of American culture through the decades. Extending back to the earliest silent films and progressing to the present, the collection presents the medium’s reflection of American attitudes and life. Extensive indexing allows users to search by character, scene, race, nationality, age, subject, year of writing, and other elements. Title list (Excel file)
Collection of video available online for the study of American history.
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
The collection includes:
•Commercial and governmental newsreels
•Public affairs footage
•Important documentaries Title List (Library Catalog search) Title List (Excel file)
Contains digital images of twenty-three popular periodicals from the 19th century.
This collection presents twenty-three popular periodicals digitized by Cornell University Library and the Preservation Reformatting Division of the Library of Congress. They include literary and political magazines, as well as Scientific American, Manufacturer and Builder, and Garden and Forest: A Journal of Horticulture, Landscape Art, and Forestry. The longest run is for The North American Review, 1815-1900.
Offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
The ANB Online features over 2,700 illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search and browse capabilities.
Indexing and page images of magazines and newspapers, 1740 and 1900.
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
The journals in this collection cover three broad periods:
• 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 offer insights into America's transition from colonial times to independence.
• The first 60 years of the 19th century became the golden age of American periodicals, with general interest magazines, children's publications, and more than 20 journals for women.
• 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras reflect the nation in turmoil and growth, and titles from the 1880s through 1900 capture the settling of the West and the emergence of modern America.
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
The collection begins with early Colonial poems such as John Wilson's 'A Song of Thanksgiving for the Lasting Remembrance of God's Wonderful Works' (1603), William Morrell's 'New England' (1625) and the complete works of Anne Bradstreet and Edward Taylor, and continues through to early twentieth-century writers such as Adelaide Crapsey and Vachel Lindsay. For the first time, major canonical poets, such as Emily Dickinson, Edgar Allan Poe, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman and Herman Melville, and important literary groups, such as the Transcendentalists and the Knickerbocker school, can be read alongside substantial bodies of work by less familiar names such as Elizabeth Akers Allen, Richard Emmons, Lemuel Hopkins and Emma Lazarus. Online Bibliography
ASM journals are the most prominent publications in the field, delivering up-to-date and authoritative coverage of both basic and clinical microbiology. With over 90 years of experience, ASM journals continue to be the leading source for the latest in microbiology research.
Full-text of all Annual Review publications in biomedical sciences, physical sciences and social sciences. This includes a complete backfile of all titles, some of which date back to 1930.
Annual Reviews is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to provide the worldwide scientific community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines.
Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited
in scientific literature as indexed by the Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports® (JCR).
Abstracts, indexing and selected fulltext for scientific and technical publications.
Indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more. Vendor: EBSCO.
Searches historical documents held in archives across the world.
ArchiveGrid connects you with primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world. You will find historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. ArchiveGrid also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies.
Primary source materials relating to the history and study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Includes the collections LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Parts I&II and Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century.
Annual publications that describe the collections, expenditures, staffing, and service activities for the member libraries of the Association of Research Libraries (ARL).
ARL Statistics Collection includes: ARL Statistics, ARL Academic Health Sciences Library Statistics, and ARL Academic Law Library Statistics, 2006 to the present. The collection includes publications only, and does not include access to data sets.
Indexing, abstracts and fulltext for art journals, museum bulletins, etc., 1984 to present.
Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications, this database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.
Indexing for for art and related fields, 1929-1984.
As an invaluable, in-depth record of contemporary art history, this database provides users with access to over half a century of high-quality indexing of art literature covering fine, decorative and commercial art dating back to 1913.
• Indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed
• Citations of over 25,000 book reviews
Bibliography for the study of modern and contemporary art.
Part of the ProQuest Art, Design and Architecture Collection.
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artist's books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and science.
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
berg, berg fashion library, fashion
The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
Index to biographical information in various sources.
Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
• Biographical dictionaries and who's whos, which supply information on a number of individuals.
• Subject encyclopedias, which include some biographical entries.
• Volumes of literary criticism, which may contain only a limited amount of biographical information but give critical surveys of a writer's works.
• Indexes, which refer the user to a body of information found elsewhere.
Periodical coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries).
• Coverage of more than 600,000 individuals
• Over 2.2 million records
• Links to over 300,000 related full-text articles, as well as abstracts and images from thousands of periodicals
• Over 35,000 images
• Substantive narrative profiles averaging 3,000 words in length
Cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies resources, including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and dissertations.
Major collections include:
Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (interdisciplinary essays)
HistoryMakers (videotaped oral interviews)
International Index to Black Periodicals
The Marshall Index (index to black periodicals, 1940-1946)
Backfiles of major black newspapers
Dissertations relating to Black Studies
Index to Black Literature
Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865
Searchable texts of non-fiction work by prominent African Americans, 1700 to present.
Contains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.
Citations and full-text book reviews from leading publications, 1983 to the present.
Reviews of serious, academic works. Subject coverage includes art, biography, business, education, general interest, history, humanities, literature, library and information sciences, music, religion, science and technology, social sciences.
• Over 2 million review citations, many with generous excerpts, from review sources such as newspapers, popular magazines, and academic journals with more than 118,000 new reviews added each year
• Over 270,000 full-text reviews from more than 1,400 American, British, and Canadian periodicals
Index of book reviews, 1965-present. Updated daily.
Comprehensive source that electronically indexes book reviews from 1965 to the present. Searchable by author, date, illustrator, audiobook reader, review length, reading level, review source, review type, reviewer, or review title.
• More than 146,000 titles in a continually growing list
• All books are recommended by librarians or other experts, are award winners or appear on bestseller lists
• 54,000 authors are represented via biographies and other resources
• 40,000 nonfiction titles are included in business, biography, science and more
• Fiction selections reflect the genres readers like best: mystery, science fiction, inspirational, romance,
nonfiction, western, horror and fantasy
Browsable newsstand of the library's top journals. Easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals. Not all MTSU journals are available via BrowZine. See the BrowZine research guide for more information
Including leading business magazines and trade and research journals for business research.
• Full-text articles for nearly 460 publications dating back to 1982
• Indexing and abstracts for nearly 880 publications dating back to 1981
• Over 600,000 corporate names with cross references to specific industries and countries
• Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) and North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) industry and product codes for over 190,000 subject terms
Searchable database of deceptive and predatory academic journals.
Blacklist Violations and Criteria List
Cabells analyzes suspected publications against over 60 behavioral indicators to for inclusion on the Blacklist. Each report provides ways to identify the journal and enumerates the specific predatory behaviors that the evaluation revealed.
Independent, curated database of scholarly journals with complete contact and publication information, multiple quality metrics, submission experience data, and peer review indicators for over 11,000 verified journals across disciplines in Business, Education, Health, Life Sciences, Physics, and Mathematics.
Digital versions of fine and decorative art from leading museums around the world.
CAMIO contains fine art and decorative art from pre-history through contemporary works. All content is rights-cleared for educational use in the classroom or to illustrate educational projects. CAMIO Contributors
Digital images of extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia.
The core of China: Culture and Society is the pamphlets held in the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia housed in the Carl A. Kroch Library of Cornell University. Mostly in English and published between c. 1750 and 1929, and amounting to around 1,200 items in 220 bound volumes, these rare pamphlets form part of one of the deepest and most extensive collections of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world and constitute a rich resource for scholars and teachers in numerous disciplines.
The pamphlets have all been digitized in color and are full-text searchable. Many are illustrated and feature lavish cover art.
Consumer market research tool that provides demographic, segmentation, and targeting data for media planners and consumer marketers. Click "Log in" (upper right) to begin, then click on "Claritas 360" and "Log In to Claritas 360."
Periodicals published in the South during the early to late nineteenth century that focus on broadly defined commercial and business concerns. Full text digital images.
Topics include agriculture, banking, business and industry, technology, railroads, and advertising, among other subjects, chronicling small and large plantation farming, the business of keeping slaves, transportation networks, and more. Full description and coverage list available from EBSCO.
Full-text searchable database of British Government documents generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices based in Latin America.
All items marked “Confidential Print” were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad. These materials range from letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports, and texts of treaties. Files cover all countries of mainland South and Central America, plus Haiti, the Dominican Republic and Cuba.
Full-text searchable database of British Government documents generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices based in the Middle East.
All items marked “Confidential Print” were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad. These materials range from letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports, and texts of treaties. The collection covers c. 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan.
Part of the Literature Criticism Online resource. Critical commentary and information on more than 2,900 authors now living or who died after 12/31/59. Includes essays on special topics and literature genres.
Every page and issue of the historical British culture and lifestyle magazine from its first issue in 1897 to 2005.
Widely considered the foremost record of country estate living in the UK, Country Life Archive preserves this history, and assembles one of the most extensive records of this unique lifestyle from the turn of the nineteenth century forward. Key estates, great country houses, as well as fine art and architecture, and rural leisure pursuits are all covered in this publication of record.
Periodicals published in the South during the early to late nineteenth century that focus on broadly defined cultural concerns. Full text digital images.
Topics include education, literature, women’s interests, philanthropic and benevolent endeavors, temperance advocacy, Masonic activities, general social movements, and more. Full description and coverage list available from EBSCO.
Dance productions and documentaries by influential 20th century performers and dance companies.
Over 900 hours of productions and documentaries. Selections include ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are:
•Classic performances from top ballet companies
•Experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes
•Documentaries by and about leading choreographers
•Videos on dance training
•Other items covering a wide range of 20th and 21st century dance styles Browse by Title Volume I Title List (Excel file) Volume II Title List (Excel file)
Primary and secondary full-text materials to support informed performance, pedagogy, and scholarship in dance. Includes e-books, photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference materials.
See brochure here (pdf). See title list here (Excel).
Abstracts of journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items covering all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. 1973 to present.
Part of the ProQuest Art, Design and Architecture Collection.
DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
Full text dissertations, masters theses, and Honors College theses from MTSU. Best place to locate recent graduate papers (2012-current) and Honors papers (2015-current). Consult ProQuest and Middle TN Historical Theses & Dissertations for additional MTSU papers in digital form.
This collection is NOT comprehensive. Consult the MTSU library catalog for print copies of MTSU graduate papers published through 2011 and Honors theses published through 2014.
This collection is NOT comprehensive. MTSU master's theses in this collection are mostly from 2013-2015, with a handful published between 1982 and 2012. Dissertations in this collection were published between 1972 and 2015.
Digitized content from 160 immigrant and general-interest newspapers, including more than 100 of the most noteworthy immigrant/ethnic newspapers that were published in dozens of American cities and towns that had large immigrant populations during the 19th century.
*Content in this collection will be released incrementally every month, with approximately 18,000 pages of content released by the end of this year. Title List | Flyer (PDF)
Videos of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
International collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Education in Video allows for the observation of the intricacies of behavior, tone, facial expression, and body language that define effective teaching styles. The collection’s wealth of course, study, and discussion guides; assessment checklists; and themed playlists give your education faculty ready-to-use teaching tools. Title List (Excel file)
Periodicals that chronicle new religious movements that were founded in America and especially those that flourished during the nineteenth century. Full text digital images.
Important periodicals devoted to Adventists, Mormons, Disciples of Christ, Holiness/Pentecostals, millennialists, and Unitarians, among others. Subjects include camp meetings, health and wellness, apologetics, and theology. Full description and coverage list available from EBSCO.
3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth.
Exhaustive coverage of the dramatic literature of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, as well as Restoration plays, medieval morality plays and mystery cycles, and nineteenth-century closet dramas. A full list of works included in the collection is given in the bibliography.
Full text, primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries.
Digital copies of complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000. Subject coverage includes Film industry, Music business, Rock and pop, Jazz and blues, Theater, Television, and Radio. Publication Coverage and Detailed Description
Newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, 1959-1989. Full Text.
Rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989. Unique perspectives are presented on the most important issues concerning ethnicities and minorities in the U.S. and Canada during the pivotal years of the 1960's, 1970's, and 1980's.
Streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs and contemporary studies covering human behavior the world over.
Ethnographic Video Online contains more than 500 hours of classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Title List (Excel file) Title List (Library Catalog search)
Rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, tracts, and broadsides concerning such areas as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood.
Thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
Read current and recent issues of magazines on your Internet-connected desktop or mobile device. To download issues for offline reading on an iPad or tablet, consult our Flipster guide.
Car & Driver
Consumer Reports Buying Guide
The Family Handyman
Horse & Rider
O, The Oprah Magazine
Sight & Sound
Complete British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan during 1919-1980.
The quality and depth of the Foreign Office’s reporting on politics, industry, trade and cultural affairs is formidable. This collection includes
*Eye-witness accounts and detailed reports on life in China, 1919-1976.
*In depth analysis of the Communist Revolution and all the major figures.
*Material on the Korean War, the Cold War, US relations and the Cultural Revolution.
Database of the more than 100,000 grantmaking foundations in the U.S., including private, community, operating, and company-sponsored foundations. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Data in Foundation Directory Online is compiled from IRS information returns (Forms 990 and 990-PF), grantmaker web sites, annual reports, printed application guidelines, the philanthropic press, and various other sources. Content is updated weekly. See video tutorials on YouTube
Indexing and abstracting (over a million records) from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers and theses. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism and gender identity. Includes Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases.
Geosciences database with over 2.8 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world.
Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations. Produced by the American Geological Institute.
Searchable, image-based government document and legal research database.
Comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of federal case law powered by Fastcase.
Collection of sources (manuscripts, visual and printed works) on the history of travel, including accounts of the English abroad, c1550-1850.
The Grand Tour is a wonderful source of information about daily life in the eighteenth century, highlighting such everyday issues as transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex.
The material also covers European political and religious life, British diplomacy; life at court, and social customs on the Continent, and is an invaluable resource for the study of Europe’s urban spaces.
There is a wealth of detail about cities such as Paris, Rome, Florence and Geneva, including written accounts and visual representations of street life, architecture and urban planning.
Database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, with indexing and abstracting from scholarly, government, and general-interest titles.
Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
Grove Music Online includes:
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (29 volumes, 2001)
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (3 volumes, 2002)
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes, 1992)
The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers (1 volume, 1994)
The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (8 volumes, 2013; in process)
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition (5 volumes, 2014; in process)
Indexing for information about published rating scales, checklists, tests, etc.
Information in HaPI is abstracted from leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. HaPI also provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from Industrial Organizational Behavior and Education.
Filmed oral history interviews of contemporary African Americans highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements. Trial requires username/password; see "more information" for credentials.
*If your browser has saved your MTSU username for the Microsoft authenticator, click "use other account" to enter the username provided above.
Periodicals that cover a wide range of leisure activities that Americans participated in during this time period. Full text digital images.
Topics include fairs and bazaars, public lectures, sporting events, hobbies, and more. Many periodicals were printed using hand-operated presses. Full description and coverage list available from EBSCO.
Full text of IEEE content published since 1988; select content published since 1893 from IEEE and IET publications, journals and proceedings.
Full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from:
IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines
IEEE conference proceedings
IET conference proceedings
IEEE published standards
IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
Direct access to the IMF periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Provides information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
Finding aid for searching specific musical works contained in printed collections, sets, and series.
IPM indexes individual pieces of music printed in the complete works of composers, in anthologies containing pieces from disparate historical periods, and in other scholarly editions. Different editions of the same piece can be located easily.
Definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art.
Part of the ProQuest Art, Design and Architecture Collection.
IBA, the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.
Search for books, articles, images, videos, scores, audio recordings, encyclopedia entries and more from a single search. Results include thousands of online resources in each category, as well as items physically held by the libraries on campus.
Fundamental and applied research (in video format) that investigates molecular interactions, properties, and structure.
JoVE Chemistry includes fundamental and applied research that investigates molecular interactions, properties, and structure spanning in the following core divisions: analytical, organic, organometallic, inorganic, bioinorganic, and biochemistry. This section also includes the design and preparation of materials and small molecules for advanced or unique applications. Articles that accompany videos can be downloaded in PDF form.
15 videos discuss three model organisms commonly used in life sciences research: S. cerevisiae (Baker’s Yeast), D. melanogaster (the fruit fly), and C. elegans (nematode roundworm).
In addition to discussing the current and historical significance of these organisms, the collection includes concepts and methodology relating to how they are maintained and reproduce in the laboratory.
15 videos explore and evaluate environmental systems, enabling the viewer to look deeper into environmental issues by highlighting important topics ranging from soil and water contaminants and invasive species to alternative energy and forestry.
Fuel Cell Assembly
Testing for GM Foods
Turbidity and Total Solids
Measuring Dissolved Oxygen
Nutrients in Aquatic Ecosystems
Determination of NOx
Lead Analysis of Soil
Elemental Analysis of Soil
Soil Nutrient Analysis
Analysis of Earthworm Populations
15 videos offer a glimpse of neuroscience at the professional level, through an exploration of five major branches of study: neurophysiology, neuroanatomy, cell and molecular neuroscience, behavioral neuroscience, and developmental neuroscience.
In addition to presenting the key questions asked by scientists from these subfields, the collection describes some prominent methods used by today’s researchers, while making exciting discoveries regarding nervous system function.
Full text for more than 140 LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers and more than 160 full-text monographs and books; indexing and abstract coverage of academic, cultural, lifestyle and regional publications and an LGBT thesaurus.
Video-based instruction for business, creative and technology skills, free to MTSU students, faculty, and staff. Create a personal account and/or log in at https://www.mtsu.edu/itd/lynda.php. Provided by MTSU.
Victorian manuscripts from the Berg Collection of The New York Public Library.
The Berg Collection is recognised as one of the finest literary research collections in the world, and the Victorian holdings are the undisputed jewel in its crown.
A broad range of authors from across the nineteenth century make this an essential research tool for all scholars and students researching Victorian literature.
Most of these unique manuscripts are unavailable in any medium elsewhere. They are supplemented by some rare printed materials, including early editions annotated by the authors. Each author collection is included in its entirety, allowing users to browse and search the manuscripts as they would in the Berg Reading Room. Authors represented in this collection include:
Elizabeth Barrett Browning
Dante Gabriel Rossetti
William Makepeace Thackeray
Complete images of 190 manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds.
The manuscripts range from contemporary copies of poems by writers like Colvil, Dryden, Fairfax and Pope to popular tags and epitaphs. Many of the manuscripts are miscellanies and commonplace books which have never previously been indexed. One example is Lady Hester Pulter's Poems breathed forth by the nobel Hadassas - a collection of poetry, c.1645-1665, comprising a single volume and several loose sheets, predominantly in a scribal hand with insertions and revisions in two other hands, one perhaps autograph. It also includes part of a novel, The Unfortunate Florinda. Another example is a poetical commonplace book, in several hands, c.1740-1804, partly compiled by Eliza Marriott.
Particularly noteworthy for illustrations are Lt 50, William Tipping’s collection of religious poetry and accompanying pasted woodcuts; Lt 76, Translations from Ovid’s Metamorphoses; and Lt 68, Patrick Carey’s love poetry Ballades dedicated to the Lady Victoria
Part of the Literature Criticism Online resource. Critical commentary and information on more than 2,900 authors now living or who died after 12/31/59. Includes essays on special topics and literature genres.
Color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.
Material found in the resource includes:
Street ephemera – posters, advertising, playbills, ballads and broadsides
A complete collection of Tallis’ Street Views
Swell’s guides to London prostitution, gambling and drinking dens
Tourist guides and topography
Manuscripts of George Gissing
There is a strong emphasis on rare or unique material, particularly in the range of ephemera and street literature available. There is also an emphasis on visual material.
The documents are drawn from the holdings of the Lilly Library, the rare books, manuscripts, and special collections library of the Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington.
Video-based instruction for business, creative and technology skills, free to MTSU students, faculty, and staff. Create a personal account and/or log in at https://www.mtsu.edu/itd/lynda.php. Provided by MTSU.
Selective list of fiction and non-fiction books recommended for grades 5 through 9.
Entries include review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. Titles are searchable by subject, author, grade level, Dewey Decimal number and more. See more information here.
Primary documents that explore the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia from 1800 to 1924. .
Letter collections, travel journals, diaries and oral histories provide a wealth of first-hand accounts for research into emigration experiences and the hardship of settlement. These are supplemented by scrapbooks, government papers, hand-drawn maps, watercolours, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and rare printed material which provide significant context to government legislation, commercial interests and living conditions for migrants during this period. Introductory Resources
Popular music chart data from around the world. Updated weekly.
Music ID contains popular music chart data from around the world, including the US, UK, Europe, South America, and Asia. It delivers access to chart data from Billboard, Official Chart Company, IFPI, Media Control, ARIA and more. Includes archival data. Updated weekly.
Read more about Music ID.
Music ID contents information How to Use Music ID
Cross-searches several music databases for text, video, and audio.
Searches African American Music Reference, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library and The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online. Includes streaming audio.
Database of musical theater repertoire searchable by parameters such as voice type, character age, range, etc. Then check the MTSU Library Catalog or Music Resource Guide to see if we have a copy of the sheet music.
Digitized documents from the NAACP's major campaigns and important local NAACP branches, 1909-1972. Full-text and searchable.
Digital copies of nearly two million pages of NAACP internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. Click on a module below for a content description.
Pediatric and neonatal drug information and dosing calculators; enteral formula database. To begin, click on NeoFax/Pediatrics in the tabs at the top of the Micromedex page. Turn off pop-up blocker first.
Free digital access to current and archived New York Times content for MTSU faculty, staff, and students. Create a personal account using your MTSU email address at http://www.nytimes.com/passes. Resource provided by MTSU Academic Affairs.
Current digital subscribers or members of a group subscription are not eligible to receive a NYTimes Pass. You must cancel your current subscription over the phone at 1-800-NYTIMES (800-698-4637) before you can create an account with an academic pass.
Streaming video for education and training of nurses.
nursing, nurse practitioner, nurse practitioners, anatomy, physiology, clinical, long term care, pediatrics, wound care
Unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.
Subject areas include: Anatomy and Physiology; Basic Clinical Skills; Cardiology; Communications; Gerontology; Infection Control; Legal Aspects of Nursing; Long Term Care; Medical Administration; Nursing Assistant Skills; Obstetrical Nursing; Pediatrics; Surgical Care; Wound Care Title List (Excel file)
Tech and business content from more than 250 publishers - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments on exclusive O'Reilly-produced content from world-renowned innovators and corporate leaders. Includes Safari e-books.
Index to Egyptological literature from 1822 to the present.
OEB includes titles from 1822 to the present. It was compiled from Bibliographie Altägypten (1822 -1946), the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (1947-2001), and the Aigyptos website (ca. 1980-2011), as well as thousands of recent and older items that have been entered directly into OEB.
Scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy, 1940 to present.
Major research areas:
Philosophy of Education
Philosophy of History
Philosophy of Language
Philosophy of Religion
Philosophy of Science
Primary source material on far-right and fascist movements alongside significant coverage of radical left groups. Content includes campaign materials, propaganda, government records, and various ephemera.
American Radicalism Collection (Michigan State University)
Hall-Hoag Collection of Dissenting and Extremist Printed Propaganda (Brown University)
Searchlight Archive (University of Northampton, UK)
Inter-and post-war material on British extremist movements from the UK National archives More information
Database of public opinion polls conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries.
Survey sources include Gallup, CNN, ABC/USA Today, CBS/New York Times, Fox News, NBC/Wall Street Journal, Quinnipiac, Brookings Institution, Marist Poll, and Pew Research Center, as well as from major universities, foundations, associations, and corporations. See help pages for more information.
Added content from Pollstar, a concert industry trade magazine. Ask for username and password at the Reference Desk.
Content includes concert tour schedules, ticket sales results, music industry contact directories, trade news and unique specialized data services. Tour histories that require purchase are not available through this service. Print copies of Pollstar are available at Walker Library.
Expert analysis of all cases given plenary review by the Supreme Court. Issues published in advance of the Court's seven annual argument sessions, with a final annual review issue. Coverage: 1973 - current.
Eight issues per year. Issues 1-7 precede the Court's seven argument sessions from October to April. Published in July following the close of the Court's term at the end of June, Issue 8 reviews the term using a combination of charts, statistics, case summaries, and essays. Published by American Bar Association.
U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. PMC contains nearly 2 million full-text articles, most of which have a corresponding entry in PubMed.
eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks.
See website for a list of publishers in R2 Digital Library.
Note: Users may print sections of any resource on the platform. To comply with publishers’ copyright policies, if a resource receives more than 60 print requests or 20% of the total number of HTML pages that comprise the resource on the R2 Digital Library over a 24 hour period, then print functionality will be temporarily suspended for that resource. Users will receive a notification upon crossing the 75% threshold of allowable print requests.
Online access to critical performing editions of music published from 2018 on, in seven Recent Researches in Music series: Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, 19th/20th centuries, American, and Oral Traditions. Includes complete content of scores and partbooks.
Periodicals published in the South during the early to late nineteenth century that focus on broadly defined spiritual concerns. Full text digital images.
Publications are devoted primarily to religion from a number of denominations (including Baptists, Presbyterians, Methodists, Lutherans, and Unitarians) and published in significant southern metropolitan areas. Full description and coverage list available from EBSCO.
International, annotated index with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1760 and 1966. Includes full text links.
RIPM indexes the contents of 140 music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more. RIPM offers more than 5,000 English-language translations of articles from journals in other languages. Titles Indexed
Historical documents covering popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975.
Key issues and events covered include:
Changing Lifestyles, 1950-1975
Student Protests across Europe and the US
Popular Culture; TV; Music; Movies
Book, Magazine and Film Censorship
Civil Rights; Women’s Liberation; Minority Groups
The Space Race
Consumerism; Credit Cards; Computers
The Vietnam conflict
The collection includes:
A wide range of Printed and Manuscript material - pamphlets, letters, government files, and eye witness accounts covering key events of the period
The renowned Social Protest Collection from University of California, Berkeley
A wide range of Underground magazines including OZ and IT; as well as an impressive collection of American fanzines and alternative press titles from Bowling Green State University
Striking visual material - thousands of indexed photographs depicting the people and events of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s
Ephemera and Memorabilia - posters, pins and artefacts
Video - a collection of carefully selected video footage that brings the sights and sounds of the period to life!
Rosetta Stone (Version 3) can be used free of charge by all students, faculty and staff at MTSU. Languages available Arabic, Chinese (Mandarin), French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Portuguese (Brazil), Russian, Spanish (Latin America), Spanish (Spain). No off campus access. Registration is required. Click here for instructions and registration.
Collect the following information for registration:
• Your MTSU email address
• Your M #
• CRN of the foreign language course you are currently enrolled.
(Note: If you are not currently enrolled in any foreign language courses, please email email@example.com to request a CRN code first.)
More than 3,000 authoritative business cases from over 100 countries. Click "more" to see trial username and password.
SAGE Originals cases are exclusive to SAGE Business Cases, focusing on current trends and shifts. These double-blind peer reviewed cases all feature teaching notes and discussion questions. The collection also includes cases from twenty world-renowned organizations including:
Yale School of Management, Yale University, USA
Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, USA
The Berkeley-Haas Case Series, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley, USA
The Electronic Hallway at the University of Washington Evans School of Public Policy and Governance, USA
Journal of Information Technology Teaching Cases, UK
University of Zurich, Swiss Chinese Case Study Center, Switzerland 2019 SAGE Business Cases title list (Excel file)
SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information.
Subjects covered include Biology and Medicine; Geosciences; Chemistry; Materials; Energy Storage, Conversion, and Utilization; Mathematics and Computing; Engineering;National Defense; Environmental Sciences; Physics; Fission and Nuclear Technologies; Power Generation and Distribution; Fossil Fuels;Renewable Energy Sources
Selective list of books recommended for grades 9-12, with a special focus on contemporary literature and subjects covered in high school curricula.
Titles are searchable by subject, author, grade level, Dewey Decimal number and more. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, evaluative quotations from a review and full-text reviews when available. See more information here.
Legal materials on slavery in the U.S. and the English-speaking world.
Includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, all reported state and federal cases on slavery, and hundreds of books and pamphlets on the subject.
Online mapping tool for demography and historical census data.
Download or create interactive maps and tables using 220 years of demographic data with over 20,000 socio-economic indicators between 1790 and the present. Includes all decennial censuses, American Community Surveys, and two religion surveys.
Social Sciences Citation Index
MTSU no longer subscribes to Web of Science/SSCI. Consider using Scopus or JEWL Search as an alternative.
Collection of documentary films, features and newsreels produced in the communist world.
Socialism on Film Introduction Citing and Embedding Films
Trial subcollections (through April 9, 2019):
• 10 Minutes Around the USSR
• Agricultural News
• Around the Soviet Union
• China Today
• Czechoslovak Life and Czechoslovak in Pictures
• GDR Magazine
• Soviet Health
• Science and Technology Magazine
• Soviet Military Newsreels
• Soviet Sport
• Vietnam Newsreel
Lenin & the Russian Revolution
The Second World War & the Rise of Fascism
The Vietnam War & Southeast Asia
Global tensions & the Cold War
Nuclear War & Peace Movements
The Holocaust & War Crimes
Revolution, War, Conflict in China & Korea
Revolution in Cuba & Latin America
The Spanish Civil War
Streaming video for topics including athletic training, health promotion, physical education, kinesiology, exercise physiology, nutritional science, and more.
Extensive collection of high-quality video for the study of disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, special populations, fitness and health assessment, medical fitness, exercise adherence, sport science, worksite wellness, and much more. Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video is an essential resource or a variety of programs, including athletic training, health promotion, physical education, Kinesiology/human movement, exercise physiology, nutritional science, sports medicine, sports science, and physical therapy Title List (Excel file)
22 nursing and medical e-books, including Stedman's Medical Dictionary and Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice. Limited to 10 or 15 concurrent users, depending on book title. Mobile App Available
nursing, nurse practitioner, nurse practitioners
Mobile App Instructions (pdf)
Access provided through Tenn-Share, a Tennessee Library Consortium Contents:
Complementary & Alternative Therapies in Nursing
Foundations of Nursing Research
Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care
ICD-10-CM: Clinical Modification
ICD-10-PCS: Procedure Coding System
AAFP Conditions A to Z
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses
Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual
Fundamental and Advanced Nursing Skills
High Acuity Nursing
Laboratory Tests and Diagnostic Procedures with Nursing Diagnoses
Lippincott's Manual of Nursing Practice
Medical-Surgical Nursing: Clinical Reasoning in Patient Care
Merck Manual Consumer Version
Nurse's Pocket Guide: Diagnoses, Prioritized Interventions, and Rationales
Nursing Care Plans: Transitional Patient & Family Centered Care
Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual, Sparks and Taylor's
Olds' Maternal-Newborn Nursing & Women's Health Across the Lifespan
Pediatric Nursing: Caring for Children and Their Families
Psychiatric Nursing: Assessment, Care Plans, and Medications
Stedman's Medical Dictionary
Statistics portal with quantitative data from over 18,000 sources for media, business, finance, politics, and other topics. Export data in a variety of formats for direct use in presentations or reports.
Aggregated statistical abstracts from approximately 45 countries, UN and EU
Statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. User instructions available on ProQuest's LibGuide.
Cross-section of periodical literature read in churches and at home, from a broad range of religious groups across every region of the expanding nation. Full text digital images.
Subjects covered include Bible and catechism lessons, music, and poetry from a broad range of religious groups across every region of the expanding nation. Includes literature representing many church communities covering Baptist, Methodist, Episcopal, Presbyterian, United Brethren, Unitarian, Lutheran, Church of God, Mormon, and various Sunday school unions. Full description and coverage list available from EBSCO.
More than 600,000 full-text searchable pages, including all supplements.
*Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1966, when both papers came under common ownership. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news.
Suite of online research databases available to all Tennessee libraries and Tennessee citizens.
TEL includes magazine and journal databases, Tennessee newspapers, test preparation, HeritageQuest, online encyclopedias, foreign language learning, and more. The TEL program is administered by the TN State Library & Archives.
Death, birth and voter registration records for Tennessee, 1829 - 1923. Create a free guest account to use this resource.
Death Certificates for 1908-1958, Delayed Birth Records for 1869-1909, 1891 Enumeration of Male Voters, City Death Records for 1872-1923 and City Birth Records for 1881-1915 are available online through a partnership with Ancestry.com. Other Ancestry.com resources require a subscription; these records are free for Tennesseans. Watch this video for more info on creating a guest account.
Definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries.
Contains more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Title List (Library Catalog search)
Evidence-based clinical decision support resource for healthcare practitioners. App is available.
App instructions: 1. Access UpToDate and create a personal account. 2. Download UpToDate app from Play Store or Apple App Store. 3. Install app and enter account information. See video for demonstration.
Archive of regularly scheduled newscasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News, August 1968 to present.
Archive of regularly scheduled newscasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News. Special news reports are recorded in addition to these newscasts, including material from other networks. We record broadcasts as they are televised, provide the widest access allowable within copyright for scholarship and research, and preserve the content for future generations. The database currently includes 1,099,338 records, including abstracts at the story level of regular evening newscasts and catalog records for each special news report.
Complete digital archives, 1906-present, of the weekly Variety and Daily Variety entertainment industry trade magazine.
See Also Variety Archives FAQ Coverage: Variety began as a weekly publication December 16, 1905; currently, the archives begin March 18, 1906. Issues from March 29, 1932-June 14, 1932 are missing. The archives contain every issue of Daily Variety, which began publication September 6, 1933. New issues of Variety and Daily Variety appear in the archive about a week after their publication dates.
Resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
* Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema
* Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment
* Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks
* Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic
See Nature and Scope for more information.
350+ short video clips with text explanation used for observing child development principles in real life situations. Search by subject, or age, or tag.
"Videatives make general principles of child development and early education come to life. Students learn to 'see what children know,' not through testing, but through careful observation. Teachers have higher-level conversations with children. Help children reflect on their actions and offer them better support for their thinking."
Over 210 American women's-related periodicals from the 1730s to 1840s. Full text digital images.
Because almost all of the women's periodicals by nature covered many topics, the titles included in this collection highlight radically changing perceptions of womanhood and ideas about the role of women over this period of time. Full description and coverage list available from EBSCO.
American women's periodicals spanning the antebellum and Civil War eras. Full text digital images.
Drawing heavily from the temperance and abolition movements, this collection includes periodicals from a number of female authors and publishers who helped to cement the foundations of women's active role in American social and religious movements. Notable long-running publications include Dickens' Household Words and Valuable Whispers, Godey's Lady's Book, The Ladies Repository, and Peterson's Magazine. Full description and coverage list available from EBSCO.
American women's periodicals from the latter part of the nineteenth century.
Contents represent a broad range of subjects and places of publication, from religious and cultural periodicals from the South to domestic and parenting magazines from the North. Featured titles include Harper’s Bazaar, Southern Review, Harriet Beecher Stowe’s Hearth and Home, The Agitator, True Woman, and Woman’s Advocate. Full description and coverage list available from EBSCO.
Comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions.
Annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and 2013. See Content for more information.