Walker Library: *English: Quick access to popular databases

Quick Links to Popular English Databases

MLA International Bibliography

Journal articles and other resources in language, linguistics, and folklore.

Title List
Literature Resource Center

Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
ProQuest One Literature

Over 500,000 primary texts (including poetry, prose and drama from all over the world), literary criticism, book reviews, reference works, full text journals, dissertations in the area of literary studies. Includes: ABELL, Literature Online (LION)
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more than 600,000 words, past and present, from across the English-speaking world.

As a historical dictionary, the OED focuses not only on the meanings of the word, but also on the history of the word, and how its meaning has changed over time. The OED traces the history of the English language through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals, to films scripts and cookery books. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism, 2nd Ed.
Literary theory and discourse.

Find additional specialized databases for English in Walker Library's Databases A-Z menu.

MLA Handbook Plus
Full text of MLA Handbook, ninth edition, with annual updates.

Includes first editions of MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature.