Walker Library: English Language & Literature: Audio, Video, Images

Find Images (Artwork, Photographs, etc.)

ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
ImageQuest
Millions of rights-cleared images for educational use. From Britannica.
British Library -- online gallery
Contains an online gallery of virtual books and online exhibitions with objects from the British Library Collections.
LIFE Photo Archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Search by decade, topic, or individual.
New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital Gallery
Contains 800,000+ digital images from the NYPL collections. Search or browse in their Arts & Literature Division for images of book illustrations, authors, theatre, and more.

Find Streaming Videos

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Performing arts education platform with HD recordings of live performances (musical theatre, theatre and film), study guides on dramatic texts, interviews with actors, directors and backstage crew, and teaching guides.
Interactive Subject Catalog
Complete Table of Contents
Teaching with Digital Theatre+
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Watch streaming films, documentaries and training videos from PBS, Criterion Collection, and other leading producers.
Kanopy FAQ
How to Create a Kanopy Clip or Playlist (pdf)
Kanopy Accessibility Statement
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
33 full length videos for the study of literature, history, religion and theater.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries.
Contains more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
Title List (Library Catalog search)
Swank This link opens in a new window
Works best in Chrome browser. Streaming collection of films and documentaries, both classic and contemporary.
Ambrose Video (BBC Shakespeare Plays) This link opens in a new window
Access to BBC's collection of 37 of Shakespeare's plays.
Access to BBC's video collection of 37 of Shakespeare's plays. Videos can be viewed in their entirety or by act.
Shakespeare’s Globe Archive: Theatres, Players & Performance This link opens in a new window
Digital archive documenting Shakespeare's Globe, the 1997 reconstruction of the 1599 Globe, from inception through construction and performances from 1997-2016.
Contents include architectural plans, oral histories, prompt books, programmes, show reports, and more. More information (pdf)
Alexander Street Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Single, integrated, modular platform for streaming video in subject areas including history, dance, education, sports medicine, theatre, and more.
A completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street video titles, including discipline collections in history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women’s studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more.
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Streaming video from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, and other documentary and educational film producers.

Poetry Foundation Videos
Watch poets read or discuss their works and the world of poetry. Classics, new poems and children's poems are featured in 6 video series.
British Pathé
Contains a rich source of newsreels from 1896-1976 from the British company Pathé. Films and stills are available from the website for preview and well as for purchase. There is much fascinating documentary footage here.
YouTube

Find Streaming Audio

Poetry Archive Audio (LION)
Over 920 links to audio recordings from the Poetry Archive of poets reading their own work.
Shakespeare Audio Plays (Complete Arkangel Shakespeare)
Fully dramatised, unabridged audio recordings of each of Shakespeare’s 38 plays.
Music Online
Contains streaming audio, video, scores, and reference material related to musical studies, covering every time period, genre, cultural group, and geographic region.
Naxos Music Library
Includes comprehensive coverage of repertoire including classical music, world music, folk, and contemporary music. Search for music by composer, title, performer, instrument, genre, stylistic period, country, and more.

About Us

English Language & Literature: Audio, Video, Images

Find Images (Artwork, Photographs, etc.)

Find Streaming Videos

Find Streaming Audio