Walker Library: Newspapers: Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspaper Databases

Newspapers.com Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Access to 4,000+ historical newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
Newspapers.com LibGuide (support and training)
Title List (World Collection(Excel)
Title List (Southeast Collection(Excel)
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) This link opens in a new window
Database covering Anglo-American primary source material dating from 1106 until 1960, aggregating indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids. Provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images, with links to full-text where available.
8C includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature; Niles' Register; American Memory; links to images in ArtSTOR; plus many more. See full content list (click on Resource Descriptions)

Accessible Archives
Accessible Archives makes available vast quantities of archived historical information, previously furnished only in microformat, hard copy form or as images only.

African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
19th century African American newspapers in full-text searchable form with page images.
Titles in Collection:
The Christian Recorder
The Colored American/Weekly Advocate
Frederick Douglass' Paper
Freedom's Journal
The National Era
The North Star
Provincial Freeman

Afro-American newspaper archives
This collection of historic African-American newspapers will be expanded over time. Coverage is primarily 20th century.
Center for Research Libraries
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has extensive runs of newspapers from around the world many of which cannot be located elsewhere in the US. They are great about allowing people to borrow long runs of a paper on microfilm for extended periods of time. Place requests through Interlibrary Loan.
Chronicling America
View content from historic newspapers pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Google Newspaper Archive
Digital scans of historical newspapers from around the world.

Historical Atlanta Constitution This link opens in a new window
Fulltext digital archive of The Atlanta Constitution newspaper, 1868-1984.
Historical Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Fulltext digital archive of the Chicago Defender newspaper, 1900-1975.
Historical Commercial Appeal (Memphis) This link opens in a new window
Fulltext digital archive of the Commercial Appeal newspaper, 1847-present, with page level scans and downloadable PDFs.
Historical Knoxville News Sentinel This link opens in a new window
Fulltext digital archive of the Knoxville Sentinel Newspaper, 1887 to present, with page level scans and downloadable PDFs.
Historical Nashville Tennessean This link opens in a new window
Fulltext digital archive of The Nashville Tennessean newspaper, 1812-2002.
Historical New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
Fulltext digital archive of the New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full text digital archive of The New York Times, 1851-2018
Historical Norfolk Journal and Guide This link opens in a new window
Fulltext access to the Norfolk Journal and Guide newspaper, 1921-2003. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Historical Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Fulltext digital archive of The Wall Street Journal newspaper, 1889-2004
Historical Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Fulltext digital archive of the Washington Post newspaper, 1877-2004.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover, full-color online archive includes every issue published.

Life Magazine
Digital version of all issues of LIFE magazine from 1935-1970. An invaluable resource for studying American culture during this time period.

ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search several historical newspapers at once, including The Nashville Tennessean, The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal, along with current papers from the Southeastern U.S.
Includes:
The Atlanta Constitution (historical)
Chicago Defender (historical)
Nashville Tennessean (historical and current)
New York Amsterdam News (historical)
New York Times (historical)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (historical)
The Wall Street Journal (historical)
The Washington Post (historical)
U.S. Southeast Newsstream (300 current titles)
Ethnic NewsWatch (39 historical titles)
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2010 This link opens in a new window
Every complete page of every issue in full-text searchable format.
Sunday Times (London) Digital Archive, 1822-2006 This link opens in a new window
More than 600,000 full-text searchable pages, including all supplements.
*Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1966, when both papers came under common ownership. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019 This link opens in a new window
Complete online facsimile edition of every issue through 2019.

Campus Connections: Sidelines

Sidelines Digital Collection

(1938 - 2012)

Newspapers on Microfilm

Walker Library holds extensive collections of newspapers on microfilm. The collections are arranged by title and by subject.

All Newspapers on Microfilm

Historical newspapers by Title

Black Newspapers

The Civil War

Early American News

The microfilm collection is located on the second floor, arranged by reel numbers. Assistance in finding, loading and using microfilm is available all hours the library is open.

Using Newspapers on Microfilm

Finding Newspapers on Microfilm
Many of the Library's historical newspapers are available on microfilm and are housed in the Microtext Collection in the Makerspace the 2nd Floor of Walker Library. To locate specific newspapers on microfilm in our collection, search the Library Catalog.

Locating Specific Articles
With the exception of some major dailies, few newspapers available on microfilm are indexed. Without indexing, you may need to scan newspapers by date to find a specific article. Check the Library Catalog to see if a specific newspaper index is available at the Library.

Microfilm Equipment
Microfilm readers that both print and scan are available in the Microtext Collection.

Image from University of Chicago Photographic Archive, apf2-03320, Special Collections Research Center, University of Chicago Library

Find Library Online Newspaper Access

Newspaper Content Available through Library Databases
Regional, national and international newspapers included in various library databases. Dates of coverage provided for each title.

About Us

Newspapers: Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspaper Databases

Campus Connections: Sidelines

Newspapers on Microfilm

Using Newspapers on Microfilm

Find Library Online Newspaper Access