Walker Library: *Recording Industry: Home

Hit Songs Deconstructed

Hit Songs Deconstructed This link opens in a new window
Data and analysis on the current mainstream music scene. Tracks compositional characteristics and production techniques in the songs that land in the Top 10 of the Billboard Hot 100.

Statista

Statista is a statistics portal of integrated data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. Statista provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and other interests, categorized into 21 market sectors. International data sources include market research reports, trade publications, opinion research organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Data is categorized into 21 market sectors. Data sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Statista help and FAQ's
More about Statista data sources

Databases for Recording Industry

See also the subject area tabs above

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Trade and consumer magazines covering the film, music and broadcast industries. Coverage ends in 2000.
Digital copies of complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2015. Subject coverage includes film industry, music business, rock and pop, jazz and blues, theater, television, and radio.
Content Description
Links to Title Lists
Music Periodicals Database Full-text This link opens in a new window
Source of articles from trade publications, popular magazines and journals.
Music Industry Data (Music ID): Formerly Academic Charts Online This link opens in a new window
Popular music chart data from around the world. Updated weekly.
Music ID contains popular music chart data from around the world, including the US, UK, Europe, South America, and Asia. It delivers access to chart data from Billboard, Official Chart Company, IFPI, Media Control, ARIA and more. Includes archival data. Updated weekly.
Read more about Music ID.
Music ID contents information
How to Use Music ID
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Contents:
Grove Music Online
The Oxford Dictionary of Music
The Oxford Companion to Music
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest This link opens in a new window
Historical documents covering popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975.
Key issues and events covered include:

Changing Lifestyles, 1950-1975
Youth Culture
Student Protests across Europe and the US
Mai ‘68
Popular Culture; TV; Music; Movies
Book, Magazine and Film Censorship
Civil Rights; Women’s Liberation; Minority Groups
The Space Race
Consumerism; Credit Cards; Computers
The Vietnam conflict
Nuclear Disarmament

The collection includes:

A wide range of Printed and Manuscript material - pamphlets, letters, government files, and eye witness accounts covering key events of the period
The renowned Social Protest Collection from University of California, Berkeley
A wide range of Underground magazines including OZ and IT; as well as an impressive collection of American fanzines and alternative press titles from Bowling Green State University
Striking visual material - thousands of indexed photographs depicting the people and events of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s
Ephemera and Memorabilia - posters, pins and artefacts
Video - a collection of carefully selected video footage that brings the sights and sounds of the period to life!
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Classic articles and audio interviews on popular music dating to the 1950's. Choose a link from "Site Content" on the left to get started.
Subscribe to the weekly newsletter for information on new content.
Simmons Insights (formerly Simmons OneView) This link opens in a new window
Consumer intelligence data including demographics, lifestyles, attitudes, brand preferences, media use and digital behaviors for US adult consumers.
Simmons Insights provides different "studies" with different datasets:
NHCS Adult Study: demographics, purchase behaviors, lifestyles, psychographics (attitudes, perceptions, preferences, etc.), and media usage for US adult (18+) consumers.
Simmons Connect: all NHCS data plus additional data on consumer digital behaviors (e.g., smartphone, tablet, and computer usage).

Simmons Insights UserGuide (pdf)
Simmons Insights Demo Video
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics portal with quantitative data from over 18,000 sources for media, business, finance, politics, and other topics. Export data in a variety of formats for direct use in presentations or reports.
Data is categorized into 21 market sectors. Data sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Statista help and FAQ's
More about Statista data sources

General Library Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Fulltext multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, periodicals and other reports, 19th century to present.
Academic Search Ultimate is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 13,600 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 9,000. Searchable cited references are provided for selected titles

Search for articles and other materials in all subject areas. Many results offer easy linking to the complete text.

General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Source for news and periodical articles on most topics with millions of articles in full-text.

Subject Guide

Grover Baker

Email Me

Contact:

(615) 494-7784

Subjects: Art and Design, Dance, Music, Recording Industry, Theatre

*Recording Industry: Home

Hit Songs Deconstructed

Statista

Databases for Recording Industry

General Library Databases

Subject Guide

Related Guides

Campus Connections

About Us

*Recording Industry: Home

Hit Songs Deconstructed

Statista

Databases for Recording Industry

General Library Databases

Subject Guide

Related Guides

Campus Connections