Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Guide to United States Popular Culture by
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 306.0973 G94b
Publication Date: 2001-06-15
"To understand the history and spirit of America, one must know its wars, its laws, and its presidents. To really understand it, however, one must also know its cheeseburgers, its love songs, and its lawn ornaments. The long-awaited Guide to the United States Popular Culture provides a single-volume guide to the landscape of everyday life in the United States. Scholars, students, and researchers will find in it a valuable tool with which to fill in the gaps left by traditional history. All American readers will find in it, one entry at a time, the story of their lives."--Robert Thompson, President, Popular Culture Association. "At long last popular culture may indeed be given its due within the humanities with the publication of The Guide to United States Popular Culture. With its nearly 1600 entries, it promises to be the most comprehensive single-volume source of information about popular culture. The range of subjects and diversity of opinions represented will make this an almost indispensable resource for humanities and popular culture scholars and enthusiasts alike."--Timothy E. Scheurer, President, American Culture Association "The popular culture of the United States is as free-wheeling and complex as the society it animates. To understand it, one needs assistance. Now that explanatory road map is provided in this Guide which charts the movements and people involved and provides a light at the end of the rainbow of dreams and expectations."--Marshall W. Fishwick, Past President, Popular Culture Association Features of The Guide to United States Popular Culture: 1,010 pages 1,600 entries 500 contributors Alphabetic entries Entries range from general topics (golf, film) to specific individuals, items, and events Articles are supplemented by bibliographies and cross references Comprehensive index
Encyclopedia of European Social History by
Call Number: E-book & Print--click for access
Publication Date: 2000-12-20
The Encyclopedia of European Social History covers all aspects of European social history from the Renaissance to the present. This six-volume reference includes more than 230 articles, ranging from 5,000 to 10,000 words, on everything from serfdom and the economy, to witchcraft and public health. This reference provides a survey of hundreds of topics. Included are more than 700 photographs, drawings and maps. The sixth volume also includes biographies of prominent European figures and a comprehensive index.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture by
Call Number: E-book & Print--click for access
Publication Date: 2001-01-22
As a meeting point for world cultures, the USA is characterized by its breadth and diversity. Acknowledging that diversity is the fundamental feature of American culture, this volume is organized around a keen awareness of race, gender, class and space and with over 1,200 alphabetically-arranged entries - spanning 'the American century' from the end of World War II to the present day - the Encyclopediaprovides a one-stop source for insightful and stimulating coverage of all aspects of that culture. Entries range from short definitions to longer overview essays and with full cross-referencing, extensive indexing, and a thematic contents list, this volume provides an essential cultural context for both teachers and students of American studies, as well as providing fascinating insights into American culture for the general reader. The suggestions for further reading, which follows most entries, are also invaluable guides to more specialized sources.
The Sixties Chronicle by
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 973.92 Si9f
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
The Sixties Chronicle explores those turbulent 10 years like no other book ever published. Hundreds of compelling photographs capture the drama and emotions of the era, both domestic and abraod. In-depth essays analyze the seirling currents of the times. And a 1,300-item timeline, running throughout the book, chronicles the Sixties' most significant moments.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture by
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 306.03 G85h
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
Focusing on the cultural distinctiveness and diversity of the modern world, the six-volume Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture is designed to meet the needs of today's multicultural classrooms and libraries. Thematic organization makes studying a broad range of topics- from film and art to foods and fashions-ideal for students of world history and culture. Appealing to a wide range of audiences, the Encyclopedia gives readers quick access to the popular interests in countries around the world, all while offering critical insight into the influence of regional pop culture on contemporary societies over the past century.
Subjects: Criminal Justice
, Databases - New and Trial
, Dissertations & Theses
, Health & Human Performance
, Human Sciences
, Leisure, Sport, and Tourism Studies
, Nutrition & Food Science
, Physician Assistant Studies
, Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology