Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

E-books: EBSCO eBooks

Individual e-book titles can be found on subject pages.

EBSCO Ebooks @ Walker Library

There are several ways to locate ebooks from the eBooks Collection (EBSCO)

1.  Find individual eBooks when you search the library catalog. Enter your terms, then use limiters at the left to narrow to Access: Online and Format: Book

2.  Access the Ebook Collection link from the Databases A-Z page. Use the eBooks link in the blue bar at the top to narrow to a subset of the collection. 


 

 

Downloading an eBook

To download an ebook to read later, Adobe Digtial Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing.  It's a free download.

Set Up Adobe Digtial Editions

1.  Make sure you have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer. 

2.  Activate Adobe Digital Editions  by creating an Adobe ID/password. Then login to Adobe Digital Editions. 

3.  To use a portable device or ebook device,  activate it with your Adobe ID/password.

(Note:  You will only have to do this setup the first time you download a book to your device.)  

4.  If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost folder, you are prompted to do so.

5.  Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu.

6.   Click the Checkout & Download button

(Note:  For some titles, you may see the option to select either the PDF or ePub format for an eBook.) 

ebooks checkout 

The eBook is added to the Checkout area of the folder, located at the upper-right corner of the page.

 6.  Select Open or Save the file.     

      If you Open the file, your eBook is opened with Adobe Digital Editions.     

      If you Save the file, the eBook is saved to your computer and can be opened with Adobe Digital Editions at a later time

7.  When a dowloaded eBook is opened, it is displayed in Adobe Digital Editions.

 

      

 

 

    

Creating an EBSCOhost Account

To save and download ebooks to read later, it's necessary to create an EBSCO account 

1.  From the Sign In Screen, , click the "Create a New Account" link

2.  Fill in your personal information and click .

3.  If all your info is accepted, a message appears with your username/password.

4.  Click "OK".  You'll be automatically logged in as a personal user.

5.  Please remember to write down your username/password!

EBSCO eBook Viewer: Reading an eBook Online

eBooks can be read in the eBook Viewer 

1.  Find the eBook you wish to view. 

2.  Click the  "eBook full text" or "PDF Full Text"  link on the Result List or Detailed Record.

3.  Note: If you are using a Mac with an older version of Safari, you'll need todownload a PDF Browser plug-in.  Click to download the  Schubertlit plug-in.

ebooks gif                                          

 Once you've opened the ebook, there are two ways to read the content.

1.  Use the forward and back arrows at the bottom of the screen to turn the pages. This navigates the book in linear fashion.

ebook viewer online

2.  Or use the table of contents on the left side of the screen to skip around to specific sections or chapters. 

table of contents                                                  

3. The tools on the right side of the screen offers many options for saving as pdf, creating notes, emailing etc.  

Note:  If you choose to  create notes and want to store them,  or save something to your "folder", you'll need to login to your EBSCO personal account.     

Download EBSCO eBooks onto your iPad or iPhone

Many of the EBSCO eBook collection books can be downloaded. However, the easiest way to view EBSCO eBooks is to view them online. 

ebook icon   Click on  to read the eBook in the eBook viewer.

 

Use the following links to learn more about devices supported and how to transfer content.

Which devices are supported?

How can I download and read eBooks on my mobile device?

How can I checkout and download an EBSCO eBook to a Kindle Fire?

 

Note: The EBSCO eBooks app will be retired in May 2018.  See  the link above: How can I download and read eBooks on my mobile device to learn more. 

Search EBSCO eBooks

eBook Collection (EBSCO)

Advanced Search

Featured Ebooks

How to Books for Graduate School

Ask Us!

Other Contact Options
Call: 615-898-2817
Visit the Reference Desk: 1st floor
Email a Librarian