It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contains reviews of major books of fiction and nonfiction published in every language, providing a unique record of developments in literature, politics, scholarship and the arts.
Many thanks to Kristina DeVoe at Temple University for allowing me to copy elements of this guide from her.
Book Reviews vs. Literary Criticism - What's the Difference?
Book reviews are written around the time the book was originally published; literary criticism appears in later years. For example, reviews of F. Scott Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby that appeared in 1925 or 1926 (right after the novel was published) are book reviews, while literary criticism about the novel continues to be written today.
Book reviews can appear in numerous places, including newspapers, popular and literary magazines, scholarly journals, book review indexes, and bookseller sites.
Book reviews are written for all kinds of book publications - not just literary texts.
Citations and full-text book reviews from leading publications, 1983 to the present.
Reviews of serious, academic works. Subject coverage includes art, biography, business, education, general interest, history, humanities, literature, library and information sciences, music, religion, science and technology, social sciences.
• Over 2 million review citations, many with generous excerpts, from review sources such as newspapers, popular magazines, and academic journals with more than 118,000 new reviews added each year
• Over 270,000 full-text reviews from more than 1,400 American, British, and Canadian periodicals
Indexes book reviews of world literature, some dating back to 1920. For best results, select Reviews from Search options.
ABELL indexes books, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1892 to the present. It is an excellent resource for researching 20th and 21st century authors and literary trends. ABELL is seamlessly linked to 325+ full-text journals in the Literature Online (LION) database. Subjects covered: Drama; Poetry; Fiction; Biography; Literary Theory; Film; Bibliography; Traditional Culture; Onomastics; Lexicography; Dialectology. See ProQuest's LION LibGuide for content details and a user guide.