It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Different types of publications have different purposes and different audiences. When we talk about journals, we can usually divide these publications into three broad categories: scholarly, popular, and trade publications.
Informs and reports on original research done by scholars and experts in the field.
Entertains and informs a general audience without providing in-depth analysis.
Reports on industry trends and new products or techniques useful to people in a trade or business.
Articles are written by subject specialists and experts in the field.
Articles are written by journalists, freelance writers, or an editorial staff.
Articles are written by specialists in a certain field or industry.
Intended for a limited audience - researchers, scholars, and experts.
Intended for a broad segment of the population, appealing to non-specialists.
Intended for practititioners in a particular profession, business, or industry.
Article Databases for English Language and Literature
Part of the Literature Criticism Online resource. Critical commentary and information on more than 3,000 authors now living or who died after 12/31/59. Includes essays on special topics and literature genres.
Bibliography of scholarly articles, books and reviews concerning English language and literature and related topics published anywhere in the world, and in any language, from 1892 to present.
ABELL indexes books, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1892 to the present. It is an excellent resource for researching 20th and 21st century authors and literary trends. ABELL is seamlessly linked to 325+ full-text journals in the Literature Online (LION) database. Subjects covered: Drama; Poetry; Fiction; Biography; Literary Theory; Film; Bibliography; Traditional Culture; Onomastics; Lexicography; Dialectology. See ProQuest's LION LibGuide for content details and a user guide.
Comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions.
Annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and 2013. See Content for more information.
Selected Journals, English Language and Literature