It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search this list of newspapers by state. Take note of publication frequency and dates available. Go to Microtext (2nd floor in DMS) to get help loading the newspaper film on special machines. You can make copies or download page images.
Indexing and page images of magazines and newspapers, 1740 and 1900.
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
The journals in this collection cover three broad periods:
• 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 offer insights into America's transition from colonial times to independence.
• The first 60 years of the 19th century became the golden age of American periodicals, with general interest magazines, children's publications, and more than 20 journals for women.
• 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras reflect the nation in turmoil and growth, and titles from the 1880s through 1900 capture the settling of the West and the emergence of modern America.
Contains digital images of twenty-three popular periodicals from the 19th century.
This collection presents twenty-three popular periodicals digitized by Cornell University Library and the Preservation Reformatting Division of the Library of Congress. They include literary and political magazines, as well as Scientific American, Manufacturer and Builder, and Garden and Forest: A Journal of Horticulture, Landscape Art, and Forestry. The longest run is for The North American Review, 1815-1900.
Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™ includes historical journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses published from 1959-1989. It includes unique and rare coverage of the following ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander;
Rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989. Unique perspectives are presented on the most important issues concerning ethnicities and minorities in the U.S. and Canada during the pivotal years of the 1960's, 1970's, and 1980's.
Full text, primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries.
Digital copies of complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000. Subject coverage includes Film industry, Music business, Rock and pop, Jazz and blues, Theater, Television, and Radio. Publication Coverage and Detailed Description
Archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives are represented in ArchiveGrid. ArchiveGrid provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions, making information available about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials. It also provides contact information for the institutions where the collections are kept.