Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

SAGE Research Methods Database: Start Your Research

Start Your Research with SRM

SAGE Research Methods can help you with every stage of your research project. 

Nearly every research project has 9 main steps:

  1. Defining a Topic
  2. Developing a Researchable Research Question
  3. Designing Your Research and Choosing Your Method
  4. Researching Ethically and Safely
  5. Reviewing the Literature
  6. Doing Fieldwork / Gathering Data
  7. Analyzing Your Data or Findings Using Qualitative or Quantitative Methods
  8. Writing Up
  9. Dissemination

1. Defining a Topic

You may already have a topic in mind, or your topic was assigned to you.  If not, search Topic on SRM, and this book chapter entry, “Choosing a Topic” will help you choose a sound area to study.

2. Developing a Research Question

A research question is more refined than a topic.  For help writing your research question, do a search.  An encyclopedia entry is a good place to start for an introductory overview.

3. Designing Your Research and Choosing Your Method

The Methods Map can help you choose a method if you’re not sure which to use.  If you already have your method, you can search directly for it.  The search results will provide both brief explanations of the method via dictionary and encyclopedia entries as well as in-depth how-to's in book-length entries.

 5. Reviewing the Literature

A literature review is a crucial step to monitor what has already been written about your topic. In addition to SRM's resources on writing and conducting your literature review, you can also use the SAGE Journals Online database to find journal articles related to your research topic. Remember to ask a librarian for additional database suggestions and advanced searching tips.

7.  Qualitative and Quantitative Analysis of Data or Findings

               

8. Writing Up the Results

      

9. Dissemination

Dissemination might be as simple as turning in your paper at the end of term or as complex as publishing within journals or books.

             

How to Start Your Research -- Tutorial

Learn how to start your research by walking through an example. You will learn how to search content, refine results, review abstracts, download PDFs, cite research, use the Methods Lists' feature, and discover related content.

Methods Map and Methods Lists -- Tutorial

Learn how to utilize the Methods Map and discover content.  The Methods Map is a visualization of the unique taxonomy of 1,400 methods-related terms that are used within the tool. You will also learn what Methods Lists are, how to use them, and how to create and share your own lists.

For the Beginner

Methods Map

Need to find a method?

Expore the Methods Map!