Skip to main content
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

Database Trials: Home

Database Trials

Trials are offered for a limited time period. Please explore and provide feedback on databases we are considering adding to our collection. We welcome your comments. After using one of the trials, please complete an evaluation form.

American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990 (trial access through 12/14/18)

The records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) on free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, immigration, labor, radicalism, and related topics support the study of American legal history and contribute to the mainstream narrative through the evolution of topics such as race, identity, gender rights, worker’s rights, popular protest, the role of government, and more. Documents include newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, court files, memorandums, telegrams, minutes, and legal case records. The papers are held at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library at Princeton University. Read more about the collection.

After you explore this resource, please tell us what you think by completing the Database Trial Evaluation Form.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Parts I & II (trial access through 12/14/18)

Primary source content on the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world since 1940. The collection includes documents on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Part II of the collection highlights marginalized groups—even within the LGBTQ community—through access to key publications. Read more above the archives.

After you explore this resource, please tell us what you think by completing the Database Trial Evaluation Form.

Early American Newspapers, Series 15, 1822-1879: Immigrant Communities (trial access through 12/14/18)

Early American Newspapers, Series 15 contains content from more than 100 of the most noteworthy immigrant/ethnic newspapers that were published in dozens of American cities and towns that had large immigrant populations during the 19th century. Complementing these is content from more than 45 traditional, general-interest newspapers published contemporaneously in those same cities or regions. This combination of newspapers provides researchers with a unique, on-the-scene history of America’s immigrant communities during the peak era of ethnic journalism in the United States. Publications by and for former citizens of Germany, France, Ireland, Italy, Sweden, Netherlands, Denmark, Norway and Scotland are the most prevalent. Although a number were published in the native languages of the immigrant groups, many are bilingual. *Content in this collection will be released incrementally every month, with approximately 18,000 pages of content released by the end of this year. As of 11/19/18, the collection includes content from nine newspapers. Title List | Flyer (PDF)

After you explore this resource, please tell us what you think by completing the Database Trial Evaluation Form.

Political Extremism in the 20th Century: Far-Right and Left Political Groups in US, Europe & Australia (trial access through 12/14/18)

This collection combines content on far-right and fascist movements with significant coverage of radical left groups, allowing researchers to access material from both sides, and providing points for comparison. Over 600,000 pages of content and 42 oral histories include a range of diverse content including campaign materials, propaganda, government records, and various ephemera. Sub-collections include Michigan State University's American Radicalism Collection and Brown University's Hall-Hoag Collection of Dissenting and Extremist Printed Propaganda. Researchers in contemporary topics will also find value in the content, allowing them to explore the origins and development of present-day issues, including the resurgence of right-wing politics, evolution of various civil rights movements and the nature of extreme or radical political thought. Read more about the collection.

After you explore this resource, please tell us what you think by completing the Database Trial Evaluation Form.

Historical Wall Street Journal, 1889-2001 (trial access through 12/19/18)

This resource contains every issue of The Wall Street Journal from 1889-2001, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. Researchers can study the progression of issues over time through these newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons, and so much more. 

After you explore this resource, please tell us what you think by completing the Database Trial Evaluation Form.

Database Trial Evaluation

Ask Us!

Other Contact Options
Call: 615-898-2817
Visit the Reference Desk: 1st floor
Email a Librarian