Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Autobiographies, dairies, memoirs, journals
Autobiographies are considered primary sources, since they are first hand accounts of events. Search for these by clicking on "Library Catalog," and change the "any field" to "author" and type in the person's name; e.g. Darrow, Clarence. Search for diaries or memoirs in the same way.
Or you can put autobiography into the first search box and put another search term in the second box such as "French Revolution" or Civil Rights." That last search (autobiography and civil rights) would give you the following book.
Autobiography of a Freedom Rider by In the Segregated Deep South, When Lynching and Klansmen and Jim Crow laws ruled, there stood a line of foot soldiers ready to sacrifice their lives for the right to vote, to enter rooms marked 'White Only,' and to live with simple dignity. They were called Freedom Riders, and Thomas M. Armstrong was one of them. This is his story. Autobiography of a Freedom Rider details Armstrong's burning need to create social change for his fellow black citizens. This richly woven memoir, which traces back to his great-grandparents as freed slaves, examines the history of the Civil Rights Movement, the devastating personal repercussions Armstrong endured for being a champion of those rights, the sweet taste of progressive advancement in the past fifty years, and a look ahead at the work still to be done.
Call Number: Walker Library 2nd floor, 323.092 Ar5a
Publication Date: 2011
Africa: primary sources
Colonial Rule in Africa by Nationalism -- Africa -- History -- Sources.
Africa -- Colonization -- History -- Sources.
Africa -- History -- 19th century -- Sources.
Africa -- History -- 1884-1960 -- Sources
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 960.2 C71
Publication Date: 1979
Diamond Fever; South African diamond histosry, 1866-9 from primary sources by
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 338.27 R545d
Publication Date: 1974
India: Primary Sources
British Encounters with India, 1750-1830 by
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 303.48254 B77
Publication Date: 2011-10-15
"A collection of 18th- and early 19th-century primary texts and images that represent various facets of the cross-cultural interaction between India and Britain.
China: Primary sources
Zheng He : China and the oceans in the early Ming dynasty, 1405-1433 by
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 951.026 D82z
Publication Date: 2006-05-03
Search for books written during a specific time period
Search for books containing contemporary accounts of events, by clicking on "Library Catalog" This is on the library web page, just below the Search Box. When you get to the Library Catalog, put it the event you are searching for in the search box on this page. Then, look under the search boxes for "Year" This is where you can fill in the time period for when the books were published.
For example. Put "Civil War" in the Search box; then put 1861-1865 in the boxes for "Years" You should now access a number of books, etc.about the civil war published in the years 1861-1865
Annals of the Army of the Cumberland : comprising biographies, descriptions of departments, accounts Fitch, John, fl. 1864 Philadelphia : J. B. Lippincott & Co., 1864. Rating:
Reference books: primary sources for U.S. and Europe
Primary Documents by
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 973.9 Am3r
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
American Decades Primary Sources is designed as a stand-alone set and also as a companion to Thomson Gale's 10-volume "American Decades Series. Each "Primary Sources volume covers a decade in American history corresponding to an original "American Decades volume, amplifying and illuminating the decade with first-hand accounts and other primary source documentation. Each volume includes approximately 165 full-text or excerpted historical documents from the period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from the decade. These documents include advertisements, commercials, diaries, literary works, newspaper articles, memoirs, periodical articles, speeches and other types of primary source materials
Milestone Documents in African American History by
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 305.896073 M59
Publication Date: 2010-05-01
The fourth publication in the award-winning, critically acclaimed Milestone Documents series, Milestone Documents in African American History explores the fundamental primary sources in African American history. This four-volume set covers 135 iconic primary documents from the 1600's to the present. Each entry offers the full text of the document in question as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context.
Understanding Medieval Primary Sources by
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 940.1072 Un2
Publication Date: 2011-10-07
Medieval society created many kinds of records and written material which differ considerably, giving us such sources as last wills, sermons, manorial accounts, or royal biographies. Primary sources are an exciting way for students to engage with the past and draw their own ideas about life in the medieval period.
Understanding Medieval Primary Sources is a collection of essays that will introduce students to the key primary sources that are essential to studying medieval Europe.
Reading Primary Sources by
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 907.2 R22d
Publication Date: 2008-09-04
Primary Sources in European Diplomacy, 1914-1945 by
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 327.4016 M56p
Publication Date: 1987-05-15
This bibliography lists published primary sources written by firsthand participants in European international affairs between the outbreak of World War I and the close of World War II.
Milestone Documents of American Leaders by
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 973.082 M59f
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Milestone Documents of American Leaders features important full-text sources written by presidents, jurists, legislators and other influential people who helped shape the nation.
Milestone Documents in American History by
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 973 M59f
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
v. 1. 1763-1823 -- v. 2. 1824-1887 -- v. 3. 1888-1955 -- v. 4. 1956-2003
The American Nation by
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 973.7 Am35f
Publication Date: 2009-04-30
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources.
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) -- Sources.
United States -- History -- 1865-1921 -- Sources.
United States -- History -- 1919-1933 -- Sources.
United States -- History -- 1933-1945 -- Sources.
The American Republic by
Publication Date: 2012-08-20
United States -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 -- Sources
United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783 -- Sources
United States -- History -- 1783-1865 -- Sources
Civil Rights Chronicle by
Publication Date: 1997-03-01
An outsider's correspondence that documents the fight for civil rights in the Deep South.
Pacific Crucible by
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 940.5426 T577p
Publication Date: 2012-11-26
Draws on eyewitness accounts and primary sources to describe the first months of World War II in the Pacific, after the U.S. Navy suffered the worst defeat in its history at Pearl Harbor.
Debating the Issues in Colonial Newspapers by
With this unique collection of primary source documents from colonial newspapers, students will be able to debate the issues of colonial America. Pro and con opinion pieces, letters, essays and news reports that were printed in colonial newspapers will help the reader to understand the differing viewpoints of colonial Americans on the key issues from 1690 to the signing of the Declaration of Independence in 1776. Nearly 300 documents, organized chronologically by event, will help readers step back in time to debate the issues faced by 18th-century Americans
Kerouac and the Beats by
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 810.9 K45k
Publication Date: 1988-06-01
, Criminal Justice
, Databases - New and Trial
, Dissertations & Theses
, Health & Human Performance
, Human Sciences
, Leisure, Sport, and Tourism Studies
, Nutrition & Food Science
, Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
Perspectives from the Past - Primary Sources in Western Civilizations by
Call Number: Reserves Desk - Walker Library - 1st Floor 909.09821 P43 v.2
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
Princes and peoples : France and British Isles, 1620-1714 : an anthology of primary sources by
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 941.06 P93k
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
This innovative anthology is the first comparative primary source collection of focus on France and the British Isles in a period critical to their development as great powers. It takes a fresh approach to the history of these two pre-industrial states, with the emphasis being on the regions and nations of which they were composed rather than the monolithic states
Western Societies by
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 306.09 W52g v.2
Publication Date: 1992-12-01
From the ancient Near East to the seventeenth century -- v.2. From the seventeenth century to the present.
European Identity by
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 940 Eu7467
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
Bringing together 101 key texts on the theme of European identity, this reader provides essential insights into the idea of 'Europe', from 450 BC to the twenty first century.
Later Middle Ages by
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 942.04 C68l
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
"More than a hundred primary documents offer students of later medieval English literature, society, and history intriguing original perspectives through which to understand the literary texts of the period 1350-1500 as well as the culture which created and received them. Complete with a substantial introduction, annotations and a timeline"--