African American Properties in Tennessee: An Interactive Map links the locations of churches, cemeteries, schools, and other properties to relevant sources in online collections, including Southern Places, TeVA (TSLA), and Nashville Public Library's digital collections.
African American Voluntary Associations (Leigh Ann Gardner)
Archaeological Survey of Rosenwald Schools in Tennessee (Tennessee Division of Archaeology)
A Bibliography of African American Places in Tennessee (Ken Middleton) provides sources for documenting the histories and locations of churches, schools, other properties, and communities. Sources referenced include Sanborn maps, county maps from the 1930s that provide school locations, newspaper articles, theses and dissertations, and books.
Fisk University Rosenwald School Database provides factual information and photographs of Rosenwald Schools across the South.
Nashville Globe: African American newspaper (early 1900s) that includes regular "Out of town" columns covering events/happenings in "Cemetery," Hortense, and many other communities.
Southern Places The collection includes images and property histories from the Center for Historic Preservation's work in preserving and documenting historic properties. Documentation of African American churches, schools, and other properties (e.g., Matt Gardner) is particularly strong.
Stones River Battlefield Historic Landscape Much of this collection documents the development of "Cemetery," an African American community that developed soon after the Civil War but was displaced by the creation of the Stones River National Battlefield.
Tennessee Civil War GIS Project This interactive map links the locations of Civil War battles with relevant narrative sources. Information about sites related to African Americans (e.g., contraband camps) will be added soon.
Tennessee Schools: TN County Educational Maps, 1935-1936 Digitized maps of many Tennessee counties include information about school locations, pupil distribution, bus routes, and road conditions. Each map has a symbol for African American and white schools.
Trials and Triumphs explores African-American Tennesseeans' search for citizenship, community, and opportunity between the end of the American Civil War (1865) and the end of World War II (1945). The project is a collaboration between MTSU's Center for Historic Preservation and the James E. Walker Library.
