Walker Library: HLTH 4300: The School Health Program: Articles

Library Databases -- included in JEWL

The databases listed below are included within the JEWL search results; but each database can also be searched individually.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Fulltext multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, periodicals and other reports, 19th century to present.
Academic Search Ultimate is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 13,600 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 9,000. Searchable cited references are provided for selected titles
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to over 750 educational journals, as well as conference proceedings, research reports, speeches, curriculum guides, etc.
ERIC Field Descriptions
ERIC Education Level & Publication Type Limits
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text education articles dating back to 1929.
Combines the contents of Education Abstracts, Education Index Retrospective and Education Full Text.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Index of 280 peer-reviewed journals and trade magazines about teaching and adminstration.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracting, and fulltext for journals in the sciences and social sciences.
PsycARTICLES (from APA) This link opens in a new window
Online access to core journals of the American Psychological Association and its partners through the EBSCOhost platform.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed literature and conference proceedings in Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Technology, Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities.
Video Tutorials
Content Coverage Guide
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext for nursing and allied fields, 1937 to present.

Library Databases -- included in Proquest

The databases listed below are included within the Proquest search results; but each database can also be searched individually.

Special Note: Proquest also contains content from the ERIC Database.

Sports Medicine & Education Index (formerly Physical Education Index) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and trade literature for physical education, recreation, fitness, etc., 1970-present.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts for journals in social work, human services, social welfare, etc.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes international scholarly literature in sociology (journal articles, dissertations, books, papers, etc.)
Dissertations & Theses Global from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Index to dissertations and theses published in the United States and around the world, with many in full-text.
See ProQuest's LibGuide for more information and database help.

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information appropriate for use in schools.

Web Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Freely accessible database of over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books, with full-text links to MTSU-subscribed content.
Includes links to full-text articles at several thousand journal web sites as well as to most of the articles in PubMed Central. PubMed User Guide
Fact Sheet: What's the Difference Between MEDLINE, PubMed and PubMed Central?
What is the connection between PubMed Central and PubMed?
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's scholarly article search with full text links back to MTSU subscription resources.

Curriculum-Related Content for School Children

Full-text content at age-appropriate reading levels for K-6.

World Book Kids This link opens in a new window
A child-oriented and interactive online encyclopedia.
Kids InfoBits This link opens in a new window
Full-text magazine, book, and Web-based curriculum-related content for use in K-6 settings. Provided through Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).

School Health Journals

Primary Research Articles (video)

What is a Scholarly Article?
from Healey Library at UMass Boston
Examining Primary and Secondary Sources
from Nova Southeastern University

About Us

HLTH 4300: The School Health Program: Articles