Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

MUS 1030: Introduction to Music: Home

If you encounter problems using any of the library databases listed on this page, or if they don't appear to be working correctly, try using a different web browser.

Music Online

Select one of the broad heading tabs (American Music, Classical Music, Dance, etc...) to browse within specified categories. For example:

  • Under American Music:
    • select Historical Events to browse recordings related to dozens of events, such as the Lewis and Clark Expedition or the California Gold Rush;
    • select Genres to browse recordings grouped into 38 different genres, including Blues, Folk, Hip-Hop/Rap, American Indian, etc.
  • Under World Music:
    • select Places to browse a list of countries organized into the same groupings used in the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

Audio examples to accompany each of the 10 volumes are listed on the left side of the home page for this resource.


The 10 volume print set of this encyclopedia may be found on the 1st floor of Walker Library in the Reference section.

Call Number: REF 780.9 G18

Kanopy Streaming Video

Under the Subjects menu located at the top left of the page:

  • select The Arts, then

Streaming Audio & Video

New!

Digital Theatre Plus

A collection of theatre, musical theatre, film, opera, dance, and music productions. Includes live performances, study guides, plot summaries, relationship guides, and interviews with cast members, directors, and crews.

Find Music Articles

Online Music Anthology

A valuable resource within the Online Music Anthology is the A-R Online History Textbook, which provides overviews of each historic era in the Western Art Music tradition.

Visual & Performing Arts Librarian

Embedding Links to Library Resources

You may want to link directly from your D2L course page, course website, an email, etc. to a sound recording, video, PDF, or some other resource included in one of the library databases listed on this page. In order to ensure that the link works from off-campus, add the Off Campus Sign In (proxy) prefix https://ezproxy.mtsu.edu/login?url= to the beginning of each URL.

For example: https://search.alexanderstreet.com/music-performing-arts
becomes: https://ezproxy.mtsu.edu/login?url=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/music-performing-arts

For more information, visit the Persistent Links to Library Resources research guide.