Walker Library: SW 4580 Social Work Practice 1: Articles & Databases

Peer reviewed articles

Recommended General Databases

These databases cover all topics, including social work topics.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Fulltext multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, periodicals and other reports, 19th century to present.
Academic Search Ultimate is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 13,600 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 9,000. Searchable cited references are provided for selected titles
Dissertations & Theses Global from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Index to dissertations and theses published in the United States and around the world, with many in full-text.
See ProQuest's LibGuide for more information and database help.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's scholarly article search with full text links back to MTSU subscription resources.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Independent international publisher of journals, books and electronic media.

Find an article by its DOI

DOI Resolve a DOI Name

Google the entire DOI, be sure to put quotation marks around it, or type the DOI you are looking for into your browser with the preface, http://dx.doi.org/

crossref.org
free DOI Lookup

Best Article Databases For Social Work/Social Sciences

Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to journals in all areas of social work and human services.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts for journals in social work, human services, social welfare, etc.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes international scholarly literature in sociology (journal articles, dissertations, books, papers, etc.)
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext for social sciences literature, 1982 to present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracting, and fulltext for journals in the sciences and social sciences.

Selected Education Databases

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to over 750 educational journals, as well as conference proceedings, research reports, speeches, curriculum guides, etc.
ERIC Field Descriptions
ERIC Education Level & Publication Type Limits
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext for education, 1984 to present.

Criminal Justice and Legal Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of books, articles, government reports, dissertations, etc., 1968 to present.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Business and legal resources, including state and federal laws and court cases.
Government, Politics & Law Collection (Hein Online) This link opens in a new window
Searchable, image-based government document and legal research database.
Comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of federal case law powered by Fastcase.

Article Databases for Health and Psychology

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext for nursing and allied fields, 1937 to present.
PsycINFO (from APA) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for psychology and related fields, 1806 to present, on the EBSCOhost platform.
DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition) This link opens in a new window
DSM-5 is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders.
Print copy available: Walker Library, 1st floor Reference 616.89 Am32d 2013
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles from international biomedical journals, 1949 to present, with full-text for 1,460 journals.
What's the difference between MEDLINE and PubMed?
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Articles and reference sources on health topics. Funded by Tennessee Electronic Library. Previously titled Health & Wellness Resource Center.

Citation Indexes

See how research is interconnected by identifying where articles are later cited.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed literature and conference proceedings in Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Technology, Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities.
Video Tutorials
Content Coverage Guide

Searchable Journal/Magazine/News Collections

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text (page images) for back issues of various leading scholarly journals.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Independent international publisher of journals, books and electronic media.
Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, 1959-1989. Full Text.
Rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989. Unique perspectives are presented on the most important issues concerning ethnicities and minorities in the U.S. and Canada during the pivotal years of the 1960's, 1970's, and 1980's.

Finding the Full Text

Look for one of these icons in the article record:

If you don't see one of those, click this:

to find links to the article in another database or to see if the library has the article in print.

If the library does not have a copy, you can order it for free through Interlibrary Loan.

If you have a citation that did not come from a library database, try using our J EWL Search or Google Scholar, which may provide you with a link to a library subscription offering.

About Us

SW 4580 Social Work Practice 1: Articles & Databases