Walker Library: African American History: Newspapers and Periodicals

Newspapers

Historical Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Fulltext digital archive of the Chicago Defender newspaper, 1900-1975.
Historical New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
Fulltext digital archive of the New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993.
Historical Norfolk Journal and Guide This link opens in a new window
Fulltext digital archive of the Norfolk Journal and Guide newspaper, 1916-2003.
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search the newspapers listed above as well as the Nashville Tennessean, The New York Times, the Washington Post, and additional newspapers.
Includes:
The Atlanta Constitution (historical)
Chicago Defender (historical)
Nashville Tennessean (historical and current)
New York Amsterdam News (historical)
New York Times (historical)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (historical)
The Wall Street Journal (historical)
The Washington Post (historical)
U.S. Southeast Newsstream (300 current titles)
Ethnic NewsWatch (39 historical titles)

African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window
Digitized periodicals, reports, and annuals documenting history of African American life and religious organizations between 1829 and 1922.
Content includes:
- More than 170 unique titles related to African American life and culture
- Approximately 60,000 pages of searchable primary source content
- Reports and annuals from African American religious organizations and social service agencies, as well as African American periodicals
Coverage list (pdf)
Video tutorial on using EBSCO's Historical Digital Archives
Ebony Magazine Archive, 1945-2014 This link opens in a new window Digital backfile of Ebony magazine from 1945 to 2014. This popular periodical covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus.
Browse issues by date