The Congressional Research Service, a component of the Library of Congress, conducts research and analysis for Congress on a broad range of national policy issues.
Browse or search recent reports and other documents. The documents under the "resources" content type may be especially useful (see the filters on the left of the search results screen).
Searchable, image-based government document and legal research database.
Comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of federal case law powered by Fastcase.
PACER provides online access to federal district and appellate court records and documents. MTSU faculty may request access for themselves or their students using this link.
Contains publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
This collection offers an historical overview of how criminal justice has changed in American and English law and the effect criminology has had in facilitating those changes. It collects government documents as well as rare or hard to find pamphlets, memoirs, and books written by ordinary law enforcement officers and not-so-famous criminals.
Brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States.
Documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Sources include federal, state and local governments, nonprofit organizations and private sector entities, think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities.
User your MTSU email address to create a personal account. HSDL In Focus collections are items highly relevant to current events or foundational topics.
Comprehensive collection of historical and current documents on immigration law and policy, including Board of Immigration Appeals decisions, legislative histories, and more.
Charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. Topics covered include the Defense of Marriage Act, the AIDS crisis, military service by gay and transgender service members, "bathroom bills," and more.
Publishes reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice.
Collection that brings together books, biographies, and periodicals dedicated to the role of women in society and the law. It provides a convenient platform for users to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years.
