Walker Library: *Biology: Articles & Databases

Selected Journals in Biology

More Biology Journals

Finding the Full Text

Look for one of these icons in the article record:

If you don't see one of those, click this:

to find links to the article in another database or to see if the library has the article in print.

If the library does not have a copy, you can order it for free through Interlibrary Loan.

If you have a citation that did not come from a library database, try using our J EWL Search or Google Scholar, which may provide you with a link to a library subscription offering.

RSS feed from Nature

Databases for Biology

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Indexing for journals, books, etc. in agriculture, 1600s to present. From the National Agricultural Library.
Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, this source provides access to millions of citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses and much more, covering all aspects of agriculture.
Journals Indexed In Agricola
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext articles for biology, agriculture and related.
Birds of the World (Cornell Lab of Ornithology) This link opens in a new window
Online database of over 10,000 global bird species with species accounts, scholarly information, color illustrations, multimedia files, maps and more.
Online database of over 10,000 global bird species, featuring: written material from Birds of North America, Handbook of the Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World; interactive content from the Macaulay Library at Cornell; and hundreds of millions of observations from eBird. Searchable by species, topic, or keyword, or you can browse using the avian taxonomy explorer. Each species account covers life history and behavior; range, abundance, and migration maps; habitat descriptions; and conservation and management guidelines. All information is regularly updated with the latest research findings from leading researchers.

How to cite content from BOW
Requesting permission to use maps or media

PDFs: The platform does not feature the ability to download a species account. The species accounts are in a constant state of revision and we provide users the latest science and information. We do, however, retain each version of the species account as a separate DOI. Please go the Revision History page associated with each individual account.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Popular magazines and professional journals for the sciences.
Global Plants (from JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Database of plant type specimens from the contributed collections of more than 300 herbaria worldwide. Includes nearly two million high-resolution type specimens.
About Global Plants
Collections list (Excel file)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracting, and fulltext for journals in the sciences and social sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed literature and conference proceedings in Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Technology, Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities.
Video Tutorials
Content Coverage Guide

Science Education Videos

JoVE Journal Biology This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed research in video format: Cellular biology, developmental biology, microbiology, immunology, plant biology, medicine, and neuroscience.
Articles that accompany videos can be downloaded in PDF form.
JoVE Science Education - Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology This link opens in a new window
15 videos demonstrate how to execute basic techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology.
Each video is paired with additional video resources for you to view practical applications of the technique and other complementary skills.

Videos cover plasmid purification, the ELISA method, transfection, etc.
JoVE Science Education - General Laboratory Techniques This link opens in a new window
15 videos show to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment essential in many experiments, as well as how to perform basic laboratory functions.
Each video is paired with additional video resources for you to view practical applications of the technique and other complementary skills.

Videos cover centrifuge, light microscopy, working in the hood, making solutions, microplate reader, etc.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Watch streaming films, documentaries, and training videos from Criterion Collection, Women Make Movies, First Run Features, and other leading producers. The library owns some titles on this platform, but most content is leased solely for classroom use; see https://library.mtsu.edu/mediaresources/policy
Kanopy Troubleshooting Guide
Kanopy Accessibility Statement
Creating playlists and/or clips (Must first create a Kanopy account)

General Databases with Biology Related Articles

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Fulltext multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, periodicals and other reports, 19th century to present.
Academic Search Ultimate is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 13,600 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 9,000. Searchable cited references are provided for selected titles. Title List
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Full-text of all Annual Review publications in biomedical sciences, physical sciences and social sciences. This includes a complete backfile of all titles, some of which date back to 1930.
Annual Reviews is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to provide the worldwide scientific community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines.

Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited
in scientific literature as indexed by the Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports® (JCR).
Applied Science & Technology Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts, indexing and selected fulltext for scientific and technical publications.
Indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more. Vendor: EBSCO.
Dissertations & Theses at MTSU (from ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Published dissertations and theses at MTSU in full-text. Consult JEWLScholar@MTSU and Middle TN Historical Theses & Dissertations for additional MTSU papers in digital form.
This collection is NOT comprehensive. MTSU master's theses in this collection are mostly from 2013-2015, with a handful published between 1982 and 2012. Dissertations in this collection were published between 1972 and 2015.

Consult the MTSU library catalog for print copies of MTSU graduate papers published through 2011.

The MTSU library catalog also lists MTSU Honors College theses in print published through 2015.
Dissertations & Theses Global from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Index to dissertations and theses published in the United States and around the world, with many in full-text.
See ProQuest's LibGuide for more information and database help.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text (page images) for back issues of various leading scholarly journals.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles from international biomedical journals, 1949 to present, with full-text for 1,460 journals.
What's the difference between MEDLINE and PubMed?
Title List
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 200 scholarly journals from Oxford University Press.

PQDT open
Open access dissertations and theses.

Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
A leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary.
SciFinder-n (CAS SciFinder-n) This link opens in a new window
Database of references, substances, reactions and supplier content in chemistry and related sciences. Includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more. MTSU users must register for SciFinderⁿ with an MTSU email address. SciFinderⁿ is only available to current MTSU students, faculty, and staff.
Note: SciFinder disables registered accounts after 12 months of inactivity. Please
contact the library if you have trouble accessing your account.

SciFinderⁿ Quick Reference Guide (PDF)
SciFinderⁿ Training

*Biology: Articles & Databases

Selected Journals in Biology

Finding the Full Text

RSS feed from Nature

Databases for Biology

Science Education Videos

General Databases with Biology Related Articles

More Databases

Current Biology

This Week in Science

Journal of Cell Biology

About Us

*Biology: Articles & Databases

Selected Journals in Biology

Finding the Full Text

RSS feed from Nature

Databases for Biology

Science Education Videos

General Databases with Biology Related Articles

More Databases

Current Biology

This Week in Science

Journal of Cell Biology