Walker Library: Management : Company & Industry Information

SIC & NAICS

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)
This search tool is provided by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA). The tool lets you search by keyword. You can also browse the entire SIC Manual

In order to compare your company's financial ratios against those of other companies in the same industry, you need to determine the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) or the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code. The primary SIC code is generally included in many of the LexisNexis Company Profiles. The SEC 10-K Report also provides this code.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
This page is maintained by the U.S. Census Bureau. You can search NAICS by keyword or browse the entire manual. There is also a tool for matching NAICS with SIC.
more...less...
NAICS Desk Reference also available in print. Call Number: Reference - 1st Floor 338.02 N14j

Financial Data & Analyst Reports

EDGAR
Electronic documents provided by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free.
Yahoo! Finance
Financial news and information provided by the Yahoo! search engine.

Company & Industry Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext for business literature, 1980s to present.
Local, regional, national and international business news coverage of corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Coverage from 1985-present.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Including leading business magazines and trade and research journals for business research.
• Full-text articles for nearly 460 publications dating back to 1982
• Indexing and abstracts for nearly 880 publications dating back to 1981
• Over 600,000 corporate names with cross references to specific industries and countries
• Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) and North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) industry and product codes for over 190,000 subject terms
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Combines detailed company and industry information with scholarly journals, business news, and more. Funded by Tennessee Electronic Library.
Business resource that includes easy to use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, and more.
General Business File ASAP This link opens in a new window
Research reports, trade publications, newspapers, and company directory listings.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
U.S. industry market research reports and risk ratings.
Reference Solutions from Data Axle (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on more than 70 million private & public U.S. businesses as well as lifestyle interests of 245 million U.S. consumers.
Separate databases for
U.S. Business
U.S. Jobs/Internships
U.S. Historical Businesses
U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles
S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Access to S&P's Company and Industry Surveys, Stock Guides, Dividend Records, Mutual Fund Ratings and Corporation Records. Industry surveys are updated twice yearly and provide key data on more than 50 industries from Health Care to Telecommunications.
S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage is available to all MTSU users through this link. The complete Capital IQ Platform, which provides deep information on companies, markets and people worldwide, is available in the University Computer Lab at BAS to students enrolled in certain business courses. Students should contact their instructor for registration information.

Industry Information on the Web

Inc. 500/5000
Economic Census
Tennessee Lottery Reports
Fortune 500
From Fortune magazine, their annual ranking of top corporations. Lists can be organized by year and industry.

Company & Industry Information

International Directory of Company Histories by Thomas Derdak (Contribution by); Gretchen Antelman (Contribution by)
Call Number: E-book & Print--Reference, 338.7409 In8 v1-72
ISBN: 155862385X
Publication Date: 1999-03-19
Tennessee business directory
Call Number: Walker Library - 3rd Floor, 338.4 T255a

About Us

Management : Company & Industry Information

SIC & NAICS

Financial Data & Analyst Reports

Company & Industry Databases

Industry Information on the Web

Company & Industry Information