Walker Library: *Chemistry: Articles & Databases

Selected Journals in Chemistry

More Chemistry Journals

Journal Abbreviations Help

To find the standard journal abberviations, use the following:

All that JAS (Journal Abbreviation Sources) -- Chemistry
Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI)
The CASSI search tool is a free, web-based resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information.

Multidisciplinary Article Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Fulltext multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, periodicals and other reports, 19th century to present.
Academic Search Ultimate is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 13,600 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 9,000. Searchable cited references are provided for selected titles. Title List
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Source for news and periodical articles on most topics with millions of articles in full-text.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive article database for all subjects, 1984 to present.
Title List
Dissertations & Theses Global from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Index to dissertations and theses published in the United States and around the world, with many in full-text.
See ProQuest's LibGuide for more information and database help.

Chemistry Databases

For a full listing of library databases, see Databases A to Z.

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Indexing for journals, books, etc. in agriculture, 1600s to present. From the National Agricultural Library.
Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, this source provides access to millions of citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses and much more, covering all aspects of agriculture.
Journals Indexed In Agricola
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Full-text of all Annual Review publications in biomedical sciences, physical sciences and social sciences. This includes a complete backfile of all titles, some of which date back to 1930.
Annual Reviews is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to provide the worldwide scientific community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines.

Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited
in scientific literature as indexed by the Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports® (JCR).
Applied Science & Technology Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts, indexing and selected fulltext for scientific and technical publications.
Indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more. Vendor: EBSCO.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext articles for biology, agriculture and related.

Chemistry Central
Free access to peer-reviewed articles published in the Chemistry Central Journal and the BioMed journals, as well as to articles published in independent journals that are using the BioMed publishing service.

General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Popular magazines and professional journals for the sciences.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal that publishes biological, medical, chemical and physical research in video format. MTSU users have access to Chemistry, Biology and Science Education videos (see JoVE Access).
MTSU subscribes to JOVE Biology, Chemistry, and Science Education.
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 200 scholarly journals from Oxford University Press.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracting, and fulltext for journals in the sciences and social sciences.
SciFinder-n (CAS SciFinder-n) This link opens in a new window
Database of references, substances, reactions and supplier content in chemistry and related sciences. Includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more. MTSU users must register for SciFinderⁿ with an MTSU email address. SciFinderⁿ is only available to current MTSU students, faculty, and staff.
SciFinderⁿ Quick Reference Guide (PDF)

SciFinderⁿ Training

Mobile site at scifinder.cas.org/mobile (must register before using mobile site).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed literature and conference proceedings in Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Technology, Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities.
Video Tutorials
Content Coverage Guide

Science Education Videos

JoVE Journal Biology This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed research in video format: Cellular biology, developmental biology, microbiology, immunology, plant biology, medicine, and neuroscience.
Articles that accompany videos can be downloaded in PDF form.
JoVE Science Education - Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology This link opens in a new window
15 videos demonstrate how to execute basic techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology.
Each video is paired with additional video resources for you to view practical applications of the technique and other complementary skills.

Videos cover plasmid purification, the ELISA method, transfection, etc.
JoVE Science Education - General Laboratory Techniques This link opens in a new window
15 videos show to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment essential in many experiments, as well as how to perform basic laboratory functions.
Each video is paired with additional video resources for you to view practical applications of the technique and other complementary skills.

Videos cover centrifuge, light microscopy, working in the hood, making solutions, microplate reader, etc.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Watch streaming films, documentaries, and training videos from Criterion Collection, Women Make Movies, First Run Features, and other leading producers. The library owns some titles on this platform, but most content is leased solely for classroom use; see https://library.mtsu.edu/mediaresources/policy
Kanopy Troubleshooting Guide
Kanopy Accessibility Statement
Creating playlists and/or clips (Must first create a Kanopy account)

Chemistry Journals and Magazines

American Chemical Society Publications This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext for journals of the ACS, 1879 to present.
The Publications Division of the American Chemical Society provides the worldwide scientific community with a comprehensive collection of the most-cited, peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences.
Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
A leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary.

Chemical Property Databases

SciFinder-n (CAS SciFinder-n) This link opens in a new window
Database of references, substances, reactions and supplier content in chemistry and related sciences. Includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more. MTSU users must register for SciFinderⁿ with an MTSU email address. SciFinderⁿ is only available to current MTSU students, faculty, and staff.
SciFinderⁿ Quick Reference Guide (PDF)

SciFinderⁿ Training

Mobile site at scifinder.cas.org/mobile (must register before using mobile site).

PubChem
Contains more than 10 million compound structures with their biological property information and 17 million records of substances.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Search for data on specific compounds in the Chemistry WebBook based on name, chemical formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, chemical structure, or selected ion energetics and spectral properties.
ChemIDplus
Dictionary of over 370,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). Includes links to NLM and other databases and resources.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
Properties of Organic Compounds
Properties of Organic Compounds is a database that contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.

Other Chemisty Databases & Search Engines

Science.gov
Searches over 50 databases and over 2100 websites from 13 federal agencies of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development resutls.
Historical Images for Chemistry
Here you will find a nice collection of historical chemistry photos. They come from the Library of Congress.

Journal of the American Chemical Society

Recent articles from the Journal of the American Chemical Society.

About Us

*Chemistry: Articles & Databases

Selected Journals in Chemistry

Journal Abbreviations Help

Multidisciplinary Article Databases

Chemistry Databases

Science Education Videos

Chemistry Journals and Magazines

Chemical Property Databases

Other Chemisty Databases & Search Engines

Journal of the American Chemical Society