Skip to Main Content

World Languages, Literatures & Cultures: Japanese-日本人

Call Numbers for Japanese Language and Literature Books

LC Call Numbers, 2nd floor

PL501-699 Japanese language
PL700-889 Japanese literature

Dewey Call Numbers, 3rd & 4th floors

495.6 Japanese language
895.6 Japanese literature

Culture, Customs, Etiquette

AtoZ the World This link opens in a new window
Country guides for 174 countries, covering culture, history, travel, business, and more.
See product brochure (PDF) for more content information.

Japanese News and Media

NHK World
Latest news, TV and radio stations, and much more

Japanese News from NYT

New Books

Solo Dance by Ri, Kotomi
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781642861167
Publication Date: 2022
Translated from the Japanese by Arthur Reiji Morris.

E-books

Essential Japanese phrasebook & dictionary : speak Japanese with confidence!
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781462919192
Publication Date: 2017
Japanese for travelers : phrasebook & dictionary by Rutherford, Scott
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781462919253
Publication Date: 2017
Easy Japanese : learn to speak Japanese quickly! by Konomi, Emiko
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781462919352
Publication Date: 2017
Basic Japanese : learn to speak everyday Japanese in 10 carefully structured lessons by Martin, Samuel E. and Sato, Eriko
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781462919284
Publication Date: 2017

Japanese Cinema

Kanopy Streaming Video offers a great collection of Japanese cinema.

Japanese Movies

Online Dictionary

BAB.LA English-Japanese Online Dictionary

Grammar Guide/Language Instruction

Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new window
Foreign language learning for over 100 languages, including English as a Second Language. Users must create an individual account to begin. Mobile app is available.
Resource provided by TN Electronic Library (TEL).

Mobile App Instructions (PDF)

Video Tutorials

BBC Learning Japanese
Busuu.com--Learn Japanese
Easy Japanese
NHK offers easy free lessons
Foreign Service Institute Language Courses (free)

Pronounciation Guide

Forvo-Japanese

Web Sites

Japanese Archive of Print Publications
The Gordon W. Prange Collection is the most comprehensive archive in the world of Japanese print publications issued during the early years of the Occupation of Japan, 1945-1949.