It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to 4,000+ historical newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
Search several historical newspapers at once, including The Nashville Tennessean, The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal, along with current papers from the Southeastern U.S.
The Atlanta Constitution (historical)
Chicago Defender (historical)
Nashville Tennessean (historical and current)
New York Amsterdam News (historical)
New York Times (historical)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (historical)
The Wall Street Journal (historical)
The Washington Post (historical)
U.S. Southeast Newsstream (300 current titles)
Ethnic NewsWatch (39 historical titles)
Historical Newspapers: Additional Digital Collections
Library of Congress digitization project. View content from historic newspapers pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Indexing and page images of magazines and newspapers, 1740 and 1900.
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
The journals in this collection cover three broad periods:
• 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 offer insights into America's transition from colonial times to independence.
• The first 60 years of the 19th century became the golden age of American periodicals, with general interest magazines, children's publications, and more than 20 journals for women.
• 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras reflect the nation in turmoil and growth, and titles from the 1880s through 1900 capture the settling of the West and the emergence of modern America.
(1880-2015) Subject coverage includes film industry, music business, rock and pop, jazz and blues, theater, television, and radio.
Digital copies of complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2015. Subject coverage includes film industry, music business, rock and pop, jazz and blues, theater, television, and radio. Content Description Links to Title Lists
Newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, 1959-1989. Full Text.
Rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989. Unique perspectives are presented on the most important issues concerning ethnicities and minorities in the U.S. and Canada during the pivotal years of the 1960's, 1970's, and 1980's.
Ebony Magazine Archive, 1945-2014This link opens in a new windowDigital backfile of Ebony magazine from 1945 to 2014. This popular periodical covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus.
JET Magazine Archive (1951-2014)This link opens in a new windowDigital backfile of JET Magazine from 1951 to 2014. This popular periodical covers the civil rights movement, politics, education, and other social topics with an African American focus.