Walker Library: Physics and Astronomy: Medical Physics

Medical Physics Organizations

International Organization for Medical Physics
American Association of Physicists in Medicine
European Federation of Organisations in Medical Physics (EFOMP)
International Radiation Protection Association
Commission on Accreditation of Medical Physics Educational Programs (CAMPEP)
more...less...
CAMPEP is a nonprofit organization whose objectives are the review and accreditation of educational programs in medical physics.
Society of Nuclear Medicine & Molecular Imaging (SNMMI)
Health Physics Society

Call Numbers

Find Medical Physics books including books on radiology, radiation oncology, and radiotherapy in call numbers:

LC Call Numbers (2nd floor)

R895-920

Dewey Call Numbers (3rd & 4th floors)

574.19

610.153

612.014

616.0754-616.0757

616.98-616.99

Medical Physic Reference

Chambers Nuclear Energy and Radiation Dictionary by Peter Walker (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 621.48 C35
ISBN: 0550132465
Publication Date: 1992-09-01
Encyclopedia of Human Biology by Renato Dulbecco (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 612 En19 1997 v.1-9
ISBN: 0122269705
Publication Date: 1997-09-11

What do Medical Physicists do?

Medical Physics is the application of physics and related sciences to the practice of medicine. For more information on what medical physics is and the career options available, see:

Medical Physics Internet Resources

Health Physics Internet Resources
Guide to health physics resources available online compiled by Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU).
MedicalPhysicsWeb
News and research in the field of medical physics.
Medical Resonance Links
Medical Resonance Links provided by the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine.
X-Ray Server
This site provides free online access to some of X-ray data analysis programs for X-ray diffraction and scattering studies from materials developed by Sergey Stepanov, an X-ray scientist working at the Argonne National Lab (ANL) near Chicago, USA.

Medical Physics Books & E-books

Introduction to Physics in Modern Medicine by Suzanne Amador Kane
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor - 610.153 Am12i
ISBN: 0415301718
Publication Date: 2002-11-28
A basic guide to technologies important to modern medicine and the the physical principles that underlie them. Written for non-scientist introductory physics course. (Precalculus level mathematics)

Medical Physics Databases

arXiv.org E-print Archive

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Medical reviews, clinical trials, and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles from international biomedical journals, 1949 to present, with full-text for 1,460 journals.
What's the difference between MEDLINE and PubMed?
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracting, and fulltext for journals in the sciences and social sciences.

Medical Physics Journals

Begin with these journals when looking for scholarly articles in the field of medical physics:

About Us

Physics and Astronomy: Medical Physics