Walker Library: Physics and Astronomy: Astronomy/Astrophysics

Astronomy Picture of the Day

Call Numbers

Walker Library is moving from the Dewey Decimal System of classification to the Library of Congress (LC) system. During this process, we are using both systems, with LC books and Dewey books on different floors. You can find a specific book's location and call number in the Library Catalog.

LC Call Numbers (2nd floor)

QB1-991 Astronomy

Dewey Call Numbers (3rd floor)

520 Astronomy & allied sciences

521 Celestial mechanics

522 Techniques, equipment & materials

523 Specific celestial bodies & phenomena

523.01 Astrophysics

525 Earth (Astronomical geography)

526 Mathematical geography

527 Celestial navigation

528 Ephemerides

529 Chronology

Astronomy & Astrophysics Organizations

Astronomical Data

SIMBAD Astronomical Database
The SIMBAD astronomical database provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.
U.S. Naval Observatory
"The United States Naval Observatory (USNO) provides a wide range of astronomical data and products, and serves as the official source of time for the U.S. Department of Defense and a standard of time for the entire United States."
NASA Exoplanet Archive
"The NASA Exoplanet Archive collects and serves public data to support the search for and characterization of extra-solar planets (exoplanets) and their host stars. The data include published light curves, images, spectra and parameters, and time-series data from surveys that aim to discover transiting exoplanets."

Astronomy & Astrophysics Books

The Astronomy Encyclopedia by Leif J. Robinson (Foreword by); Wil Tirion (Contribution by); Patrick Moore (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 520.3 P53a
ISBN: 0195218337
Publication Date: 2002-11-21
The Astronomical Almanac by United States Naval Observatory. Nautical Almanac Office.
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor QB8.U6 A77
Publication Date: 1981-present
"Data for astronomy, space sciences, geodesy, surveying, navigation and other applications".
Encyclopedia of the Solar System by Tilman Spohn (Editor); Doris Breuer (Editor); Torrence Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: Available electronically. 2nd edition at Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 523.2 En19 2007
ISBN: 9780124160347
Publication Date: 2014-05-30
Provides a framework for understanding the origin and evolution of the solar system, historical discoveries, and details about planetary bodies and how they interact--with an astounding breadth of content and breathtaking visual impact.

Astronomy & Astrophysics Resources

LOC Astronomy and Astrophysics Subject Guide
Astrophysics Data System
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.
Astronomer's Telegrams
The Astronomer's Telegram is for reporting and commenting on new astronomical observations.
Astronomy Book & Software Reviews
Find citations for reviews of books on subjects related to astronomy and astrophysics from 1987.
ADS Virtual Library of Astronomy & Astrophysics Books
Links to online books relating to astronomy and astrophysics which can be browsed and printed on demand.
NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database
NED is a comprehensive database of multiwavelength data for extragalactic objects, providing a systematic, ongoing fusion of information integrated from hundreds of large sky surveys and tens of thousands of research publications.

About Us

Physics and Astronomy: Astronomy/Astrophysics