Walker Library: Sociology: Articles & Databases

Finding the Full Text

Look for one of these icons in the article record:

If you don't see one of those, click this:

to find links to the article in another database or to see if the library has the article in print.

If the library does not have a copy, you can order it for free through Interlibrary Loan.

If you have a citation that did not come from a library database, try using our J EWL Search or Google Scholar, which may provide you with a link to a library subscription offering.

Peer reviewed articles

RSS feed from Annual Reviews

PolicyMap

PolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool. Use it for:

research (demographic and socioeconomic),
market studies,
business planning,
site selection,
grant applications,
impact analysis.

Data can be presented as maps, tables, charts, and reports. PolicyMap YouTube tutorials

Sociology databases

For more databases, see the A-Z Resources page.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext for nursing and allied fields, 1937 to present.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Videos on the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology and psychiatric counseling.
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Collection includes:
•Counseling sessions and demonstrations
•Consultations
•Lectures, presentations, and interviews
Title List (Library Catalog search)
Volume I Title List (Excel file)
Volume II Title List (Excel file)
Volume III Title List (Excel file)
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of books, articles, government reports, dissertations, etc., 1968 to present.
Dissertations & Theses at MTSU (from ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Published dissertations and theses at MTSU in full-text. Consult JEWLScholar@MTSU and Middle TN Historical Theses & Dissertations for additional MTSU papers in digital form.
This collection is NOT comprehensive. MTSU master's theses in this collection are mostly from 2013-2015, with a handful published between 1982 and 2012. Dissertations in this collection were published between 1972 and 2015.

Consult the MTSU library catalog for print copies of MTSU graduate papers published through 2011.

The MTSU library catalog also lists MTSU Honors College theses in print published through 2015.
Dissertations & Theses Global from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Index to dissertations and theses published in the United States and around the world, with many in full-text.
See ProQuest's LibGuide for more information and database help.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext for education, 1984 to present.
Education Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexing for leading education periodicals, 1929 to 1983.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Educational administration.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to over 750 educational journals, as well as conference proceedings, research reports, speeches, curriculum guides, etc.
ERIC Field Descriptions
ERIC Education Level & Publication Type Limits
Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, 1959-1989. Full Text.
Rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989. Unique perspectives are presented on the most important issues concerning ethnicities and minorities in the U.S. and Canada during the pivotal years of the 1960's, 1970's, and 1980's.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text (page images) for back issues of various leading scholarly journals.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
PsycINFO (from APA) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for psychology and related fields, 1806 to present, on the EBSCOhost platform.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Independent international publisher of journals, books and electronic media.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext for social sciences literature, 1982 to present.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts for journals in social work, human services, social welfare, etc.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to journals in all areas of social work and human services.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes international scholarly literature in sociology (journal articles, dissertations, books, papers, etc.)
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Index of 280 peer-reviewed journals and trade magazines about teaching and adminstration.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Watch streaming films, documentaries, and training videos from Criterion Collection, Women Make Movies, First Run Features, and other leading producers. The library owns some titles on this platform, but most content is leased solely for classroom use; see https://library.mtsu.edu/mediaresources/policy
Kanopy Troubleshooting Guide
Kanopy Accessibility Statement
Creating playlists and/or clips (Must first create a Kanopy account)
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Online mapping tool for demography and historical census data.
Download or create interactive maps and tables using 220 years of demographic data with over 20,000 socio-economic indicators between 1790 and the present. Includes all decennial censuses, American Community Surveys, and two religion surveys.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics portal with quantitative data from over 18,000 sources for media, business, finance, politics, and other topics. Export data in a variety of formats for direct use in presentations or reports.
Data is categorized into 21 market sectors. Data sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Statista help and FAQ's
More about Statista data sources
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Streaming documentary films from a number of sources, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, and the National Film Board of Canada. Many films in this collection focus on social and environmental issues.
Docuseek Help Wiki
Instructors can register a personal account in order to create clips and playlists.

Sociological spectrum

Sociological spectrum

ProQuest All-Database Search (includes Sociology, Social Work, Social Sciences)

ProQuest All-Database Search This link opens in a new window
This search does not include Literature Online (LION) and ebooks.

Recommended General Databases

The databases cover all topics, including social work topics.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Fulltext multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, periodicals and other reports, 19th century to present.
Academic Search Ultimate is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 13,600 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 9,000. Searchable cited references are provided for selected titles
Dissertations & Theses Global from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Index to dissertations and theses published in the United States and around the world, with many in full-text.
See ProQuest's LibGuide for more information and database help.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's scholarly article search with full text links back to MTSU subscription resources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text (page images) for back issues of various leading scholarly journals.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive article database for all subjects, 1984 to present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals for arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, 1990s to present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracting, and fulltext for journals in the sciences and social sciences.

Social Explorer

Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand social change

About Us

Sociology: Articles & Databases