Walker Library: ADV 3480: Media Strategy and Buying: Consumer Behavior & Demographics

Market Segmentation: Zip Code

The following websites provide market segementation information for zip codes.

Consumer Behavior on the Web

National Retail Federation
Consumer Trend data and retail industry research
American Customer Satisfaction Index
Customer satisfaction index can be browsed by industry or company.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
American Time Use Survey
The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
Middle Tennessee Consumer Confidence Reports
The MTSU Office of Consumer Research uses the telephone survey lab to conduct surveys of consumer confidence in Middle Tennessee. The surveys measure consumers' perceptions of economic conditions in the country as a whole as well as in Middle Tennessee. Reports are available online.
J.D. Power and Associates: Consumer Ratings & Awards
J.D. Power and Associates is a leading global marketing information services company that conducts independent consumer surveys of product and service quality, customer satisfaction, and buyer behavior.

Consumer Behavior & Demographics

Simmons Insights (formerly Simmons OneView) This link opens in a new window
Consumer intelligence data including demographics, lifestyles, attitudes, brand preferences, media use and digital behaviors for US adult consumers.
Simmons Insights provides different "studies" with different datasets:
NHCS Adult Study: demographics, purchase behaviors, lifestyles, psychographics (attitudes, perceptions, preferences, etc.), and media usage for US adult (18+) consumers.
Simmons Connect: all NHCS data plus additional data on consumer digital behaviors (e.g., smartphone, tablet, and computer usage).

Simmons Insights UserGuides
Simmons Insights Demo Video

Consumer Behavior Books - Statistics

Consumer Marketing & Advertising by Richard K. Miller, Kelli Washington
ISBN: 9781577833192
Publication Date: 2022
8th edition
Consumer Behavior 2023 by Richard K. Miller and Kelli Washington
ISBN: 9781577833178
Publication Date: 2022
16th edition
Entertainment & Leisure Business Market Research 2022 by Richard K. Miller, Kelli Washington
ISBN: 9781577832966
Publication Date: 2022
18th edition
Entertainment & Leisure Market Research 2023 by Richard K. Miller, Kelli Washington
ISBN: 9781577833222
Publication Date: 2022
19th edition
Travel & Tourism Market Research handbook 2023 by Richard K Miller and Kelli Washington
ISBN: 9781577833260
Publication Date: 2022
17th edition
Retail Business Market Research Handbook 2021-2022 by Richard K. Miller
ISBN: 9781577833161
Publication Date: 2022
21st edition
Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research 2022 by Richard K. Miller, Kelli Washington
ISBN: 9781577833239
Publication Date: 2022
20th edition
Sports Marketing 2023 by Richard K. Miller, Kelli Washington
ISBN: 9781577833253
Publication Date: 2022
21st edition
International Consumer Markets 2020-2021 by Richard K. Miller, Kelli Washington
Publication Date: 2020
4th edition
Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile 2023 by Richard K. Miller, Kelli Washington
ISBN: 9781577833208
Publication Date: 2022
7th edition
Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook 2021-2022 by Richard K. Miller, Kelli Washington
Publication Date: 2021
21st edition
Business-to-Business Marketing 2020-2021 by Richard K. Miller, Kelli Washington
ISBN: 9781577833161
Publication Date: 2022
6th edition
U.S. Cities & Communities by Richard K. Miller, Kelli Washington
ISBN: 9781577833277
Publication Date: 2022
2nd edition
Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook 2021-2022 by Richard K. Miller and Kelli Washington
Publication Date: 2021
17th edition
Leisure Business Market Research Handbook 2021-2022 by Richard K. Miller and Kelli Washington
Publication Date: 2021
8th edition
Consumer Behavior: Pandemic & Post-Pandemic by Richard K. Miller, Kelli Washington
Publication Date: 2020
Retail & E-Commerce: Impact of the Pandemic by Richard K. Miller, Kelli Washington
Publication Date: 2020

Statistics

Resources on the web for finding U.S. demographic data.

data.census.gov
Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic information provided by the U.S. Census Bureau
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics portal with quantitative data from over 18,000 sources for media, business, finance, politics, and other topics. Export data in a variety of formats for direct use in presentations or reports.
Data is categorized into 21 market sectors. Data sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Statista help and FAQ's
More about Statista data sources

International Demographic Data

Resources on the web for finding international demographic data.

World Bank
Data by country or topic. Wide range of information, i.e., GDP, labor & employment, population, trade etc.
International Labor Comparisons
Adjusted international labor statistics for comparison with the US.
U.S. Department of State
Country profiles include some demographic data.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
U.S. Census Bureau International
U.S. Census Bureau demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries.
United Nations Statistics Division
Demographic and Social Statistics from the United Nations.

About Us

ADV 3480: Media Strategy and Buying: Consumer Behavior & Demographics

Market Segmentation: Zip Code

Consumer Behavior on the Web

Consumer Behavior & Demographics

Consumer Behavior Books - Statistics

Statistics

International Demographic Data