Walker Library: EMC 4140/4430: Media Programming/Media Management: Audience Demographics & Behavior

Audience Demographics & Behavior Databases

These databases are the library's recommneded consumer research databases. They provide a mix of demographic and pyschographic information.

Simmons Insights Quick Repoirts
This video shows MTSU students how to access MRI Simmons Insights and run a Quick Report for market research. (7:06)

National Retail Federation
Consumer Trend data and retail industry research
American Customer Satisfaction Index
Customer satisfaction index can be browsed by industry or company.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
American Time Use Survey
The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
Middle Tennessee Consumer Confidence Reports
The MTSU Office of Consumer Research uses the telephone survey lab to conduct surveys of consumer confidence in Middle Tennessee. The surveys measure consumers' perceptions of economic conditions in the country as a whole as well as in Middle Tennessee. Reports are available online.
J.D. Power and Associates: Consumer Ratings & Awards
J.D. Power and Associates is a leading global marketing information services company that conducts independent consumer surveys of product and service quality, customer satisfaction, and buyer behavior.

Market Segmentation A Guide to Sources of Information
This guide includes books and other resources that discuss marketing to particular segments of the population along with other sources that are important in determining the size and power of a particular market segment.

Need a guide to finding market segmentation information? Consult:

The following websites provide market segementation information for zip codes.

Resources on the web for finding U.S. demographic data.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics portal with quantitative data from over 18,000 sources for media, business, finance, politics, and other topics. Export data in a variety of formats for direct use in presentations or reports.
Data is categorized into 21 market sectors. Data sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Statista help and FAQ's
More about Statista data sources

Community Facts - Use data.census.gov
Find popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community. U.S. Census. Enter city or county name.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
County Profile tool
Provides detailed data on TN counties and regions.

World Bank
Data by country or topic. Wide range of information, i.e., GDP, labor & employment, population, trade etc.

Resources on the web for finding international demographic data.

International Labor Comparisons
Adjusted international labor statistics for comparison with the US.
U.S. Department of State
Country profiles include some demographic data.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
U.S. Census Bureau International
U.S. Census Bureau demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries.
United Nations Statistics Division
Demographic and Social Statistics from the United Nations.