New Video Content Available
Walker Library now has access to Drama Online’s video collection! We already had access to the Core Collection, containing over 1,200 playtexts and scholarly works (context & criticism and theatre craft). The new video content consists of 51 videos:
BBC Drama Films & Documentaries,
The Hollow Crown Series 1 & 2,
Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen Film Collection,
Hamlet the Film, and
Patsy Rodenburg’s Shakespeare in the Present 6 hour masterclass.
The Library's print collection includes many plays in individual volumes, and many more that are published in collections, or anthologies.
To find a specific play use the "Books & Media" option in the library search box to enter the play title, placing quotes around the title, e.g. "raisin in the sun." This will find that title in a stand-alone edition or as part of an anthology. You might also find critical works about the play.
If you don't find the play you need in the catalog try Play Index AND Inter-Play. The catalog records for some anthologies don't include detailed title information but you can find the titles through Play Index or Inter-Play.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance is an unparalleled resource, providing comprehensive, authoritative, and up-to-date information about theatre and performance internationally, through history and in the present in an accessible format. Available in print and as an e-referencetext from Oxford's Digital Reference Shelf, the 4,300 entries total well over a million words and are complemented by over 100 illustrations. Coverage ranges from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. The Encyclopedia pays specialattention to non-Western styles through articles on theatre and performance throughout the many countries and traditions of Asia and Africa, often written by practitioners or critics from those areas. Dance, opera, performance art, radio, film, and television are covered at length. The Encyclopediaalso embraces para-theatrical, non-drammatic, and popular performance, including ritual, carnivals, parades, the circus, and public executions. Biographical entries cover the lives and work of major figures from the past and present: actors, playwrights, directors, designers, and critics. Innovativeentries on cities and regions place performance in its local social and political context.A particular feature of the Encyclopedia is the series of entries on concepts, theories, and critical approaches to theatre and performance, from short definitions of terms to lengthy considerations of genres, and from detailed discussion of movements such as feminism and psychoanalytic criticism todiscussions of semiotics and post-colonial studies. While remaining thoroughly accessible in language and approach, the Encyclopedia takes advantage of the theoretical and historiographical developments in the field, using signed entries by the best scholars and writers available.
A Chronology of American Musical Theater by
With an introductory chapter discussing the very earliest productions--The Beggar's Opera (1750), The Archers (1796), Tom and Jerry (1823), and The Bohemian Girl (1844)--A Chronology of American Musical Theater offers in-depth coverage of Broadway musicals from 1850-2001. The book's entriesspan more than 5,000 shows, including not only "book musicals" but also revivals, revues, burlesques, operettas, farce comedies, comic operas, ice skating shows, rock operas, and other musical spectacles that appeared on Broadway stages.Drawing on primary documents--playbills, newspaper reviews, advertisements, and articles--Richard C. Norton has assembled a wealth of information in an easy-to-use format. All productions appear in chronological order by season in the first two volumes and are indexed alphabetically in volumethree, allowing readers to quickly locate shows by either date or title, with variant titles also included. Entries contain the full cast, including chorus and dance ensemble (when known), composers, lyricists, book writers, choreographers, set designers, costumers, lighting designers, directors,and producers, followed by details of acts and scenes, and a comprehensive list of songs, sketches, dances, and specialties. The opening paragraph of each entry also contains information which does not appear in programs, such as opening and closing dates, change of venue, return engagements, andnumber of performances. In addition to the title index, complete song and principal performer indexes are also included, as well as a selected index of personal names of creators and secondary performers. No other resource--print or electronic--offers as many musicals as the Chronology of AmericanMusical Theater.For anyone wishing to trace the history of a Broadway musical, or to research any aspect of this vital popular art, this three-volume set is the best, and in many instances, the only place to start.
The New York Times Guide to the Arts of the 20th Century by
Reviews, news articles, interviews and essays capturing 100 years of art, architecture, literature, music, dance, theater, film and television.
Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre by
A lot has happened in the musical theatre over the last ten years. New shows have opened and closed, new talents have emerged, and hit shows have made triumphant returns to Broadway. Now, the acclaimed Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre -- a 1994 Dartmouth Medal honorable mention -- has been fully revised and updated to document such developments with 500 new articles, more than 4,000 revised articles and dozens of color photos. From the dawn of operetta in the 18th century to the present, this set offers an unrivaled amount of information on the people, the songs and shows in America and around the world.
Media Collection: Streaming videos, music, and audiobooks
This box searches books and media. On the results page, filter by media type under Format.
