Walker Library: SW 3200: Cultural Diversity: Mexican Americans

FIRST: Start here to find info about Mexican Americans

Multicultural America

Start by finding general background information about Mexican Americans in Encyclopedias.

1. Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America 2014

This Encyclopedia is a GREAT source of information on all aspects of Mexican American culture, history, religion, family, etc.

2. Atoz the world

This database has excellent info on Mexico, including culture, politics, family, religion, customs, etc. which Mexicans have brought to the U.S. When comparing Mexicans to Mexican Americans, you may notice that some attitudes and customs have changed or evolved since they have come to the U.S.

3. Multicultural America - Ronald H. Bayor (Editor) 63 pages of good information about Mexican Americans

Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 305.800973 M91b

ISBN: 9780313357862

Publication Date: 2011-07-01

Great resource. For differenct ethnic groups gives background, chronology, immigration patterns, cultural assimilation, demographic profile, family life, etc.

Additional reference works

Religion and American Cultures - Luis León (Editor); Gary Laderman (Editor)

Call Number: Call No. 200.973 R27la Reference - Walker Library 1st Floor

ISBN: 157607238X

Publication Date: 2003-08-26

"Religion and American Cultures" offers a unique and engrossing journey across our country's religious landscape, past and present. A new spirit of religious diversity and multiculturalism stands alongside traditional institutions in this exhaustive three-volume set.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)
ISBN: 0195156005
Publication Date: 2005
Hispanic Americans by Paul McCaffrey
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 305.868 H62m
ISBN: 9780824210670
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Voices of Multicultural America by Deborah Gillan Straub (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 815.008 V87
ISBN: 0810393786
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
Multiculturalism in the United States by John D. Buenker (Editor); Lorman A. Ratner (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 305.8 M91b 2005
ISBN: 0313324042
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Contemporary Ethnic Geographies in America by Ines M. Miyares; Christopher A. Airriess
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 305.8 C76m
ISBN: 0742537722
Publication Date: 2006-10-19

Immigration

Mexican Immigration
Bracero Program 1942-1964
The Bracero program was a series of agreements between the government of the United States and Mexico signed between 1942 and 1964
Mexico
The historical and future trajectories of Mexico and the United States are intimately interwoven, especially in regard to international migration. Migration between Mexico and the United States represents the largest sustained current of migrant workers in the contemporary world

Culture

Tejano Music
During the 1930s and 1940s a music developed which mirrored the evolution of Hispanics in southwestern cities into Mexican Americans, a bicultural community emerging from Mexican roots within the United States. This was the first generation of Americans of Mexican descent to aspire for inclusion in Anglo-American life

Civil Rights

Maria Hernandez
A native of Mexico and a longtime resident of Lytle, Texas, she was a co-founder of the Orden Caballeros of America, a civil-rights organization established in 1929, through which she became a forceful and eloquent voice for the Mexican-American community.
IMMIGRANT POLITICS I: ACTIVISM
Latino Civil Rights Timeline, 1903 to 2006

Chicano! the history of the Mexican American civil rights movement / by Arturo F. Rosales
Call Number: Call Number: 973.046872 R71c
ISBN: 1558851526
Publication Date: 1996-04-01
BASED ON THE 1996 PBS SERIES of the same name, Chicano! details the struggle of the Mexican-American community for social and legal equality, political and cultural identity. Chicano! focuses on individuals, issues and pivotal events that made up the popular movement known as el movimiento or la causa in the period 1965-1975. In addition, Rosales has carefully documented two centuries of struggle for civil rights by Mexican Americans. The Chicano Movement has been an often ignored aspect of the civil rights struggles in the 1960s; it was nonetheless a landmark period for the second-largest ethnic minority in the U.S.

Library Search (JEWL)

Second: Search for more specific info in journal articles, books and newspapers

Use this box above to search the Ebsco Discovery Service. Change the "All" to "Articles" in the drop down menu. Then put your search terms in the search box, such as "Mexican Americans" and Religion or" Mexican Americans" and Family.

Change the drop down menu to "Books" to search for books. You can use the same search terms.

Articles from Ebsco Discovery search

Articles about Mexican Americans and education

Here are some example search results. Click on the links to see the articles.

Mexican Americans and Culture--articles
Culture of Mexican Americans: Its Importance for Early Educators
Mexican Americans: food or cooking articles/books
The Lifestyle of the Middle-Class Mexican American Female.
Examines the lifestyle of the middle-class Mexican American woman. Family structure; Implications of values, culture and tradition for psychotherapy.
Mexican American Family Culture
A long research article (peer reviewed) from the database JStor about social work practice and family cultural characteristics
La quincaenera: Making Gender and Ethnic Identities.
The article studies the customs and traditions of Mexican American women represented in the rites of passage ceremony for Mexican girls called, la quinceañera.
Mexican Americans: Family articles
Differing Cognitive Trajectories of Mexican American Toddlers: The Role of Class, Nativity, and Maternal Practices
Recent studies reveal early and wide gaps in cognitive and oral language skills--whether gauged in English or Spanish--among Latino children relative to White peers. Yet, other work reports robust child health and social development, even among children of Mexican American immigrants raised in poor households, the so-called "immigrant advantage.
Mexican Americans: Religion articles
Search for Mexican Americans
Neighborhood and family intersections: Prospective implications for Mexican American adolescents' mental health.
We present an integrated model for understanding Mexican American youth mental health within family, neighborhood, and cultural contexts.
Estamos traumados: The effect of anti‐immigrant sentiment and policies on the mental health of Mexican immigrant families.
This study examines the effects of immigration legislation on Mexican immigrant families’ health and mental health. Focus groups were completed with youth and adult participants who were immigrants or children of immigrants (N = 43). Participants shared the risky conditions that are part of their everyday life and feelings of isolation, powerlessness, frustration, fear, stress and chronic trauma they experience.
50 articles on Mexican Americans and Mental Health
Curanderismo: demystifying the health beliefs and practices of elderly Mexican Americans.
A study was conducted into the role of folk-healing among elderly Mexican Americans
Cinco de Mayo, Normative Whiteness, and the Marginalization of Mexican-Descent Students.
This case study is concerned with how institutional practices of normative whiteness can impede the school involvement of Mexican-descent students. It examines how damaging forms of white normativity can operate in school settings where one might least expect to find them: in commemorations of Mexican cultural holidays.
America's growing observance of Cinco de Mayo.
Feast day in Leadville
EVERY YEAR on December 12, the feast day of the Virgin of Guadalupe, Mexican-Americans in Leadville, Colorado, make a three-mile pilgrimage along Highway 24-
The crack between the worlds: the Mexican way of death
Many Mexicans experience a profound sense of connectedness with their deceased ancestors, which they celebrate on the late October holiday known as the Day of the Dead. A US-born woman who lived for many years in Mexico describes the differences in Mexican and North American notions of death.
Remembrance, Discovery, Will: Chicano Customs on the Day of the Dead.
Part of a special section on the traditional Mexican calavera, or skeleton, motif. The writer discusses Day of the Dead celebrations in Chicano communities. (Click on the JSTOR Full TExt in the left column for the full text of the article)

Other databases with information from journals, magazine, videos, etc.

Mexican Americans

Some additional databases may have some information for you.

Find more info about Mexicans and Mexican Americans in Student Resources

Books in Walker library about Mexican foods

A tortilla is like life: Food and Culture in the SAn Luis Valley of Colorado

In Oaxaca, chocolate is more than history. It signifies the binding of a pueblo to its roots and to the belief that the divine (sacred)purifies, gives new force to, and celebrates life. Read more about chocolate in Oaxaca al gusto, an infinite gastronomy [electronic resource] / Diana Kennedy.

Voices in the kitchen: views of food and the world from working class Mexican and Mexican American women - Merecith Abarca

Fiesta at Rick's - Rick Bayless; Deann Groen Bayless

ISBN: 9780393058994

Publication Date: 2010-07-05 Walker Library - 3rd Floor 641.5972 B34f

From My Mexican Kitchen - Diana Kennedy; Michael Calderwood (Photographer)

Call Number: Walker Library - 3rd Floor 641.5972 K38f

ISBN: 0609607006

Publication Date: 2003-09-09

Central American and Mexican Diet

Books about Mexican Americans

Non-fiction written by Mexican Americans in "Latino Literature database" these works of non-fiction talk about social and political conditions for Mexican Americans.

Biographies about Mexican Americans Click here for biographies of Mexican Americans in Walker Library or online.

Católicos by Mario T. Garci´a
ISBN: 9780292794092
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Chicano Catholicism--both as a popular religion and a foundation for community organizing--has, over the past century, inspired Chicano resistance to external forces of oppression and discrimination including from other non-Mexican Catholics and even the institutionalized church. Chicano Catholics have also used their faith to assert their particular identity and establish a kind of cultural citizenship.
Day of the Dead in the USA: the migration and transformation of a cultural phenomenon
Chicano struggles for education: activism in the community
Publication Date: 2013
Gender Roles in Immigrant Families by Susan S. Chuang (Editor); Catherine S. Tamis-LeMonda (Editor)
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 306.85 G28ch
ISBN: 1461467349
Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Intimate Migrations by Deborah A. Boehm
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 973.046872 B63i
ISBN: 9781479885558
Publication Date: 2013-07-01
Learning the possible [electronic resource] : Mexican American students moving from the margins of life to new ways of being /
Publication Date: 2013
Palomino [electronic resource] : Clinton Jencks and Mexican-American unionism in the American Southwest / James J. Lorence.
The Latino threat [electronic resource] : constructing immigrants, citizens, and the nation / Leo R. Chavez.
Transcultural nursing : assessment & intervention / [edited by] Joyce Newman Giger.
Barrios to burbs [electronic resource] : the making of the Mexican-American middle class / Jody Agius Vallejo.

Search EasyBib: Click on the EasyBib Image Below

Third: Locate statistics

To find additional statistics on Mexican Americans, google this search......Mexican Americans statistics site:gov......Your search will give you all kinds of statistics gathered by government agencies.

Building Our Understanding: Culture Insights Communicating with Hispanic/Latinos
General statistics and many statistics on communication such as TV, Social Media, Magazines, etc.
Demographic portrait of Mexican Americans in the U.S.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Statistical portrait of hispanics in the U.S. 2011
Diversity Kids
FastStats - Health of Mexican American Population

Fourth: Info from authoritative web sites

Cultural Insights
also has statistics
Pew research Hispanic Trends Project
Pew Research Center's Hispanic Trends Project seeks to improve public understanding of the diverse Hispanic population in the United States and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation. Info on education, youth, politics, economics,
Dia de los muertos from Huffington Post
Mexican American Migrations and communities
The Mexican-American community: Data and research roundup

Fifth: Need help

Kristen West

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

James E. Walker Library

615-904-8528 (office)

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Databases - New and Trial, Dissertations & Theses, Health & Human Performance, Human Sciences, Leisure, Sport, and Tourism Studies, Nutrition & Food Science, Physician Assistant Studies, Public and Community Health, Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Sixth: Putting it all together

For help with organizing and writing your paper, contact the Writing center on the third floor of the library.

Phone: 904-8237

Email: uwcenter@mtsu.edu

Log on to WCONLINE to see your upcoming appointments:

mtsu.mywconline.com

Templates for formatting your paper are availabe for MLA and APA in Microsoft Word. Open a blank document, then Click on "File" then click on 'New" and search for APA or MLA

FINISH by Citing your sources of information

Easy Bib research Guide

Try the Easy Bib Citation Generator in the middle column for your citations. It automatically uses MLA, so click on APA if you want that style.

Citation Style Guides

About Us

SW 3200: Cultural Diversity: Mexican Americans