Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Films from Kanopy
Kanopy has many films that would be helpful for a cultural diversity class. Use the Search box at the top of the page to find films on your topic.
East of Occidental
This eye-opening documentary tells the story of the inhabitants of Seattle’s International District, a unique neighborhood where Chinese, Japanese and Filipino Americans have come together as a political and social force
Chan is Missing
Acclaimed filmmaker Wayne Wang's first feature film Chan is Missing follows the adventures of two cabbies on their search through San Francisco's Chinatown for a mysterious character who has disappeared with $4,000 of their money. Their quest to figure out what happened to Chan and their missing cash leads them on a humorous journey that illuminates the pitfalls of Chinese-Americans trying to assimilate into contemporary American society.
Our Fires Still Burn: The Native American Experience
This exciting and compelling one hour documentary invites viewers into the lives of contemporary Native American role models living in the U.S. Midwest
Native-American History: Native American Influence On The US
Discover the fascinating ways in which the U.S. was profoundly affected by the native cultures that were here thousands of years before the Europeans. Explore the ways in which our government, economy, agriculture, medicine, language & legal system are still influenced by Native American contributions
Different Strokes: Nurture and Human Diversity
If genes are the canvass, is environment the brush that strokes the color and detail of who we are? This lesson surveys the nurture portion of the human equation by examining the influence of the prenatal environment, peer groups, and the power of culture. Differences in the White, Latino, Asian, and African American cultures
"We Work Again;" African Americans and the Federal Work Programs
The film We Work Again, 1937(NAID 12322) was created by the WPA to promote the involvement and activities of African Americans who were employed with this agency.
The film contains footage of the all-black version of Macbeth. Some of the black performers were Juanita Hall, Alma Dickson, Bertram Holmes, Zola King, Josephine Williams, and Wilhelmina Williams.
Communicating between cultures by
Publication Date: 2004
Some "cultural givens" are so deeply imbedded in thought patterns they lead to communication breakdowns. View and discuss this series of eye opening cross-cultural situations. Observe how "cultural givens" such as "getting right to the point", "saving face," taking turns in conversation, and saying "yes" or "no" complicate inter-cultural communication. Allow a multi-cultural cast to teach your students practical guidelines for communicating between cultures.
Publication Date: 2013
In this video, Dr. Nadal uses diverse approaches to work with three clients: (1) Jude, a Latino FTM (female-to-male) transgender man who describes some of his experiences with microaggressions in the workplace; (2) Ray, a white gender nonconforming person who discusses diﬃculties ﬁnding acceptance at home; and (3) Morena, a Filipina MTF (male-to-female) transgender woman, who shares her diﬃculty with dating and people's reactions to her transgender status.
African American Film and Television
Motion picture and television collections at UCLA Film & Television Archive feature titles made both by and about African Americans. These films and programs run from the silent era to modern situation comedies. They provide a unique opportunity not only to examine the history of how blacks have been represented in mainstream media, but also to view a considerable range of productions by African Americans.
Outfest UCLA Legacy Project: Sample Collection Areas
This Collection consists of film and video materials from the ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives, the world’s largest research library and archive devoted to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) concerns. The Collection features film and video materials that reflect the history of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community, including interviews with pioneers of the LGBT movement such as Jim Kepner, Dorr Legg, Morris Kight, Pat Rocco, Stewart Szidak, Bob Basker, Cliff Anchor, Sarah Dreher and Samuel Steward
, Business Communication & Education
, Communication Studies
, Distance Learning
, Mass Communication
, Media Arts (Electronic Media Communication)
, Public Relations
, Social Work
, Statistics & Data