Films are purchased to support the curriculum objectives, classroom instruction, and independent learning at MTSU.
We welcome suggestions for new videos and films.
The media collection includes a selection of popular feature films. These were purchased to support the teaching and curriculum needs of faculty, students and staff.
The collection includes a large number of older audio titles on cassette. The latest audiobooks are in CD format and include best-seller popular fiction and non-fiction titles as well as some classics.
Walker Library no longer purchases audiobooks.
DVDs and videotapes are loaned for the purpose of showing in an official MTSU class or home use.
Other uses, including showings on campus, may violate terms of the license agreement.
The borrower is responsible for understanding and observing all licensing restrictions and related laws. Please ask if you have questions.
Videos with an "a" at the end of the call number i.e. (B01234a, H01234a), include public performance rights.
Videos with an "R" at the end, do not include public performance rights.
For new materials (since the merger in 2012) check for a note in the record to see if it comes with public performance rights or not.
A variety of formats has been collected over the years.
Besides the media physically located at Walker Library, there is an extensive collection of thousands of licensed streaming video available to MTSU faculty, students, and staff. See the Streaming Video tab for more information.
The Media Collection at Walker library includes over 12,000 titles including feature films, documentaries, animated films, and instructional programs. Formats include DVDs, videotapes.
VHS/videotapes call numbers begin with "H".
For example: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Part 1. Call No. B02993R (The "R" indicated it was restricted; no public performance rights)
El edificio de los chilenos (The Chilean Building) Call No. DVD - 120 (Info about public performance rights will now be included in the record)
Audio materials in the Library (Overdrive for auidobooks, ebooks)CDs, audiocassettes)
Audio CD: The Vital History Collection includes over . The Lannon Foundation Audio Archive, and the (AES) Audio Engineering Society collection of interviews are also in the media collection.
Media resources also include CD-ROMs, (Over 300 titles) and a few DVD-ROMs (7 titles).
Search the Media Collection: Videos and audiobooks may be checked out from the circulation desk on the 1st floor. Items are not currently on public display. Please ask a circulation staff member for assistance retrieving an item.