Walker Library: Media Resources: Image Collections

MTSU Subscribed Collections

These collections require an MTSU Pipeline login for use from off-campus.

ImageQuest
Millions of rights-cleared images for educational use. From Britannica.
Artstor
Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and science. Please note this warning for users who have a photosensitive seizure disorder.

Warning:
Content that flashes at certain frequencies can trigger seizures in individuals who have photosensitive seizure disorders. A small number of videos on Artstor display flashing at higher than recommended frequencies for viewers with such disorders. Artstor is currently exploring remediation. To avoid seizure, users with photosensitivity should contact Artstor support for more information prior to viewing videos.

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Berg Fashion Library
Image content and encyclopedia articles on world dress and fashion throughout history. Presented on the Bloomsbury Fashion Central platform.

The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
Statista
Statistics portal with quantitative data from over 18,000 sources for media, business, finance, politics, and other topics. Export data in a variety of formats for direct use in presentations or reports.

Data is categorized into 21 market sectors. Data sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Statista help and FAQ's
More about Statista data sources

MTSU Free Collections on the Web

MTSU James E. Walker Library Digital Collections

Below are examples of the collections included. Click on the link above for all collections.

MTSU Memory Project
James M Buchanan Family Collection
Cannon County
Tennessee Collection
Stones River Battlefield Historic Lanscape Project
Cedar Glades Studies Collection

All images are available for educational and non-commerical use. View rights and/or terms of condition statements for each image to determine attribution.

Flickr Creative Commons

Compfight
Enhanced search of Flickr content. Limit to Creative Commons.
Flickr Creative Commons
Browse by license type or choose "Advanced Search" to limit to Creative Commons content.
Photopin
Search millions of Creative Commons photos. Add them to your blog posts easily.
Wylio
Searches only Creative Commons content in Flickr. Additional tools available for blogs and websites.

Websites with Free Images

Bing
Enter your search term; select "license" menu to use public domain images.
Every Stock Photo
A search engine for free photos. Many sources. License specific.
Free Images
Huge repository of free images and graphics. Sign-In to download images. Part of the Getty Images.
Free Stock Photos
Great source for free photos and clip art. A variety of commercial and editorial licenses, including public domain, creative commons, and custom agreements.
Google Images
A simple way to find images by keyword.
Life Magazine Photo Gallery
Link to an image but make sure to select the license button to give proper credit. If you want to use the image outright, make sure it's allowed. Check that permission can be granted or don't copy or cite it.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Images
Look for images labeled OASC (Open Access for Scholarly Content) for images in the public domain that are freely available for scholarly and academic publication.
morgueFile
Free high resolution stock photos for illustration, comp or design.
New York Public Library
Free and open access to over 700,000 images from The New York Public Library collections. Before using any images, review the Library's terms and conditions.
Picjumbo
Free photos for commercial and personal works.
Pixabay
All images are available under the CCO license and can be used anywhere. Browse by camera model as well.
Public Domain Archive
Impressive online repository of public domain images organized by category. Only limited high quality images.
Public Domain Photos
Free public domain photos. All images taken by in-house photographers.
Superfamous Studios
Great resource for high-res images for your website and other graphic design projects. Licensed under Creative Commons and require attribution.
Unsplash
Free (do whatever you want) high-resolution photos. 10 new photos every 20 days if you subscribe.
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service National Digital Library
Free to use as long as you credit the photographer.

About Us

Media Resources: Image Collections

MTSU Subscribed Collections

MTSU Free Collections on the Web

Flickr Creative Commons

Websites with Free Images