Primary Sources: Databases

This release contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs. Particular care has been taken to index this material so it can be searched more thoroughly than ever. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. Includes 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor.

Contains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.

The core of China: Culture and Society is the pamphlets held in the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia housed in the Carl A. Kroch Library of Cornell University. Mostly in English and published between c. 1750 and 1929, and amounting to around 1,200 items in 220 bound volumes, these rare pamphlets form part of one of the deepest and most extensive collections of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world and constitute a rich resource for scholars and teachers in numerous disciplines.

The pamphlets have all been digitized in color and are full-text searchable. Many are illustrated and feature lavish cover art.

More information available here

All items marked “Confidential Print” were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad. These materials range from letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports, and texts of treaties. Files cover all countries of mainland South and Central America, plus Haiti, the Dominican Republic and Cuba.

All items marked “Confidential Print” were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad. These materials range from letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports, and texts of treaties. The collection covers c. 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan.

Thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

The quality and depth of the Foreign Office’s reporting on politics, industry, trade and cultural affairs is formidable. This collection includes
*Eye-witness accounts and detailed reports on life in China, 1919-1976.
*In depth analysis of the Communist Revolution and all the major figures.
*Material on the Korean War, the Cold War, US relations and the Cultural Revolution.

The Grand Tour is a wonderful source of information about daily life in the eighteenth century, highlighting such everyday issues as transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex.

The material also covers European political and religious life, British diplomacy; life at court, and social customs on the Continent, and is an invaluable resource for the study of Europe’s urban spaces.

There is a wealth of detail about cities such as Paris, Rome, Florence and Geneva, including written accounts and visual representations of street life, architecture and urban planning.

Material found in the resource includes:

Fast literature
Street ephemera – posters, advertising, playbills, ballads and broadsides
Penny fiction
Cartoons
A complete collection of Tallis’ Street Views
Chapbooks
Street Cries
Swell’s guides to London prostitution, gambling and drinking dens
Tourist guides and topography
Manuscripts of George Gissing

There is a strong emphasis on rare or unique material, particularly in the range of ephemera and street literature available. There is also an emphasis on visual material.

The documents are drawn from the holdings of the Lilly Library, the rare books, manuscripts, and special collections library of the Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington.

Digital copies of nearly two million pages of NAACP internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. Click on a module below for a content description.

Modules:
Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files
Branch Department, Branch Files and Youth Department Files
Special Files
The NAACP's Major Campaigns - Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
The NAACP's Major Campaigns - Legal Department Files
The NAACP's Major Campaigns - Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses

Key issues and events covered include:

Changing Lifestyles, 1950-1975
Youth Culture
Student Protests across Europe and the US
Mai ‘68
Popular Culture; TV; Music; Movies
Book, Magazine and Film Censorship
Civil Rights; Women’s Liberation; Minority Groups
The Space Race
Consumerism; Credit Cards; Computers
The Vietnam conflict
Nuclear Disarmament


The collection includes:

A wide range of Printed and Manuscript material - pamphlets, letters, government files, and eye witness accounts covering key events of the period
The renowned Social Protest Collection from University of California, Berkeley
A wide range of Underground magazines including OZ and IT; as well as an impressive collection of American fanzines and alternative press titles from Bowling Green State University
Striking visual material - thousands of indexed photographs depicting the people and events of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s
Ephemera and Memorabilia - posters, pins and artefacts
Video - a collection of carefully selected video footage that brings the sights and sounds of the period to life!

See product brochure (pdf)
Download bibliography (Excel file)

Four sections: 
* Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema
* Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment
* Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks
* Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic
See Nature and Scope for more information.

See About Women and Social Movements in the United States for more information.

Rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989. Unique perspectives are presented on the most important issues concerning ethnicities and minorities in the U.S. and Canada during the pivotal years of the 1960's, 1970's, and 1980's.