Walker Library: SW 3170: Family Caregiving: Health Issues

Alzheimer's

alzheimer's

The Handbook of Alzheimer's Disease and Other Dementias by Neil W. Kowall (Editor); Andrew E. Budson (Editor)
Call Number: Walker Library - 3rd Floor 616.83 H19
ISBN: 9781405168281
Publication Date: 2011-11-07
Alzheimer's disease and other dementia. by 1 streaming video file (approximately 36 min.) : digital, .flv file, sound
The Alzheimer's Caregiving Puzzle by Patricia Callone; Connie Kudlacek
ISBN: 9781932603880
Publication Date: 2010-10-01

Parkinson's

Parkinson Foundation
For those who care for people with Parkinson't
List of books at Walker Library on Parkinson's Disease
Parkinson's Disease form Medline Plus
NINDS Parkinson's Disease INformation Page

Websites

Evaluating Health info on the Web

Additional databases about health issues and information

UpToDate
Evidence-based clinical decision support resource for healthcare practitioners.
CINAHL Complete
Indexing and fulltext for nursing and allied fields, 1937 to present.
Cochrane Library
Medical reviews, clinical trials, and more.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Articles and reference sources on health topics.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Indexing and fulltext for scholarly journals and reference information.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Citations and abstracts for articles from international biomedical journals, 1949 to present, with full-text for 1,460 journals.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Comprehensive
Online journals in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, etc. 1975 to present.

Help

Please contact me if you would like help in finding library or web resources for a disease or condition.

ginny.vesper@mtsu.edu

Cerebral palsy

Huntington's Disease

Down Syndrome

Traumatic Brain Injury

List of books available from Walker Library or ebook collections
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
Excellent information NINDS Traumatic Brain Injury Information Page
MedlinePlus Traumtic Brain Injury
Another excellent source of information, includes research, statistics, etc.
Traumatic Brain Injury from Veterans Health initiative
Traumatic Brain Injury Program (Tennessee)
The Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Program was established by the Tennessee General Assembly to address the needs of those individuals who have sustained a brain injury, as well as their family members and primary caregivers.
•Each year in Tennessee, approximately 8,000 people are admitted to the hospital with a brain injury
Traumatic Brain Injury--Department of Defense special report

Cystic Fibrosis

Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
Cystic Fibrosis
from Medline Plus, excellent information
Fact Sheet 41 Cystic Fibrosis
Center for Genetics Education
Cystic Fibrosis Community Support
Anxiety and depression in adolescents with CF and their caregivers
Cystic Fibrosis: Adolesence
Kanopy video

Schizophrenia

Living with; Schizophrenia
Early diagnosis and treatment can help the person affected get back to living their lives. Understanding and support from others is an important component in the recovery process.
What is Schizophrenia
Schizophrenia
Excellent info from MedlinePlus
Family Members and Carefivers
NAMI - National Alliance on Mental Illness
Burden of Care on Caregivers of Schizophrenia Patients
Schizophrenia
American Psychiatric Association into

Books

Schizophrenia by Ronald Chase
Call Number: Walker Library - 3rd Floor 616.89 C3867s
ISBN: 9781421410906
Publication Date: 2013-09-04
When bright lives are derailed by schizophrenia, bewildered and anxious families struggle to help, and to cope, as scientists search for causes and treatments that prove elusive. This title sets out to discover the facts about the disease and better understand what happened to his older brother, Jim, who developed schizophrenia as a young adult.
A Disability of the Soul by Karen Nakamura
ISBN: 9780801478611
Publication Date: 2013-06-18
Bethel House, located in a small fishing village in northern Japan, was founded in 1984 as an intentional community for people with schizophrenia and other psychiatric disorders. Using a unique, community approach to psychosocial recovery, Bethel House focuses as much on social integration as on therapeutic work

Subject Guide

Sharon Parente

Email Me

Contact:

Walker Library 266F

(615) 898-2549

Subjects: Advertising, Anthropology, Business, Business Communication & Education, Communication Studies, Distance Learning, Entrepreneurship, Journalism, Marketing, Mass Communication, Media Arts (Electronic Media Communication), Public Relations, Social Work, Sociology, Statistics & Data

ALS "Lou Gehrig's Disease"

ALS Cargiving articles

https://ezproxy.mtsu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&bquery=(ALS)+AND+(caregiving)&cli0=FT&clv0=Y&type=1&site=eds-live&scope=site

Find articles using the above link

ALS

Until I Say Good-Bye by Susan Spencer-Wendel; Bret Witter
Call Number: Walker Library - 3rd Floor 616.83 Sp3u
ISBN: 9780062241450
Publication Date: 2013-03-12
In June 2011, Susan Spencer-Wendel learned she had amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)—Lou Gehrig's disease—an irreversible condition that systematically destroys the nerves that power the muscles. She was forty-four years old, with a devoted husband and three young children, and she had only one year of health remaining.
Susan decided to live that year with joy.
Lou Gehrig's Disease by James N. Parker; Philip M. Parker
ISBN: 0585497761
Publication Date: 2004-01-01

About Us

SW 3170: Family Caregiving: Health Issues

Alzheimer's

alzheimer's

Parkinson's

Websites

Evaluating Health info on the Web

Additional databases about health issues and information

Help

Cerebral palsy

Huntington's Disease

Down Syndrome

Traumatic Brain Injury

Cystic Fibrosis

Schizophrenia

Books

Subject Guide

ALS "Lou Gehrig's Disease"

ALS Cargiving articles

ALS