Walker Library: COMM 4650: History and Theory of Rhetoric: Biographies

Biographical Information -- Library Databases

Biography in Context (Gale In Context)

600,000+ biographical entries — on more than 528,000 individuals — spanning history and geography. Search by Name, Occupation, Nationality, Birth Place, or Death Place.
Biography Reference Bank

• Coverage of more than 600,000 individuals
• Over 2.2 million records
• Links to over 300,000 related full-text articles, as well as abstracts and images from thousands of periodicals
• Over 35,000 images
• Substantive narrative profiles averaging 3,000 words in length
African American Music Reference

• Full text from major reference works
• Biographies and personal narratives from oral histories
• Manuscripts, song-sheets, lyrics, discography data, and other text sources
cover jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and
blues, gospel, and other forms of African American musical expression
American National Biography

Offers portraits of more than 19,000 men and women- from all eras and walks of life--whose lives have shaped the nation.
Help page
FAQs
HeritageQuest Online

Need help getting started? Consult these Research Aids
Literature Resource Center
Music Online (from Alexander Street)

Searches African American Music Reference, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library and The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online. Includes streaming audio.
Something About the Author Online
Biography and Genealogy Master Index

Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
• Biographical dictionaries and who's whos, which supply information on a number of individuals.
• Subject encyclopedias, which include some biographical entries.
• Volumes of literary criticism, which may contain only a limited amount of biographical information but give critical surveys of a writer's works.
• Indexes, which refer the user to a body of information found elsewhere.

Autobiographical Information -- Library Databases

Migration to New Worlds: The Century of Immigration

Primary documents that explore the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia from 1800 to 1924. .

Letter collections, travel journals, diaries and oral histories provide a wealth of first-hand accounts for research into emigration experiences and the hardship of settlement. These are supplemented by scrapbooks, government papers, hand-drawn maps, watercolours, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and rare printed material which provide significant context to government legislation, commercial interests and living conditions for migrants during this period. Introductory Resources
First World War, The: Personal Experiences

Drawn from archival collections around the world, this collection offers a glimpse at how people lived their lives during the Great War.
Jewish Life in America

Collection of primary sources that trace Jewish involvement in American society, 1654-1954.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Primary source texts and images related to Native American history.
Sixties, The: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 - 1974: Video

Also see the companion collection of text-based resources: The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974
See product brochure (pdf)
Download bibliography (Excel file)
North American Women's Letters & Diaries
Diaries and letters of American women, colonial era to 1950.
Medieval Travel Writing

Collection of manuscripts on European travel writing, 13th to 16th centuries.

Websites with Biographical Info

Websites with Biographical Info -- Library Research Guide