Walker Library: COMM 4650: History and Theory of Rhetoric: Newspapers

Current Newspaper Articles

InfoTrac Newsstand (Now News from Gale OneFile)
Full-text articles from national, international, state and local newspapers -- published between 1980 and present.
Global Newsstream Collection

One of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Canadian Newsstream Collection ; Global Breaking Newswires ; International Newsstream Collection ; U.S. Newsstream Collection

International News Outlets
Helpful if you need international perspectives from within specific countries.
State News Outlets
Helpful if you need state or local perspectives from within specific states.

Tennessean, The (Nashville) 1999-present
Full text articles published in The Tennessean (Nashville) newspaper between 1999-present. Current day's issue is delayed 24 hours.

Tennessee Lookout
Local and state news coverage throughout Tennessee. Nonprofit with editorial independence and free content sharing.

US Newsstream Southeast
Regional news from D.C., Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Paperboy Online Newspapers
Search online newspapers by region, country, or state.

Daily News Journal (Murfreesboro)
Murfreesboro and Rutherford County news

DNJ web site is http://www.dnj.com/

Sidelines
MTSU's student-run newspaper

Historical Newspaper Databases

Newspapers.com Library Edition
Access to 4,000+ historical newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.

Watch a short video on using Newspapers.com
Newspapers.com LibGuide (support and training)
Title List (World Collection(Excel)
Title List (Southeast Collection(Excel)
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile)
Database covering Anglo-American primary source material dating from 1106 until 1960, aggregating indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids. Provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images, with links to full-text where available.

8C includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature; Niles' Register; American Memory; links to images in ArtSTOR; plus many more. See full content list (click on Resource Descriptions)

Accessible Archives
Accessible Archives makes available vast quantities of archived historical information, previously furnished only in microformat, hard copy form or as images only.

African American Newspapers (History Commons)

19th century African American newspapers in full-text searchable form with page images.

Select Titles in Collection:
The Bee
The Christian Recorder
The Colored American/Weekly Advocate
Frederick Douglass' Paper
Freedom's Journal
The Langston City Herald
The Louisianan
The Nashville Globe
The National Era
The North Star
Provincial Freeman
The Semi-Weekly Louisianian
The Tulsa Star
...and more

Afro-American newspaper archives
This collection of historic African-American newspapers will be expanded over time. Coverage is primarily 20th century.
Center for Research Libraries
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has extensive runs of newspapers from around the world many of which cannot be located elsewhere in the US. They are great about allowing people to borrow long runs of a paper on microfilm for extended periods of time. Place requests through Interlibrary Loan.
Chronicling America
View content from historic newspapers pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Google Newspaper Archive
Digital scans of historical newspapers from around the world.

Historical Atlanta Constitution
Fulltext digital archive of The Atlanta Constitution newspaper, 1868-1984.
Historical Chicago Defender
Fulltext digital archive of the Chicago Defender newspaper, 1900-1975.
Historical Commercial Appeal (Memphis)
Fulltext digital archive of the Commercial Appeal newspaper, 1847-present, with page level scans and downloadable PDFs.
Historical Knoxville News Sentinel
Fulltext digital archive of the Knoxville Sentinel Newspaper, 1887 to present, with page level scans and downloadable PDFs.
Historical Nashville Tennessean
Fulltext digital archive of The Nashville Tennessean newspaper, 1812-2002.
Historical New York Amsterdam News
Fulltext digital archive of the New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993.
Historical New York Times
Full text digital archive of The New York Times, 1851-2018
Historical Norfolk Journal and Guide
Fulltext access to the Norfolk Journal and Guide newspaper, 1921-2003. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Historical Wall Street Journal
Fulltext digital archive of The Wall Street Journal newspaper, 1889-2004
Historical Washington Post
Fulltext digital archive of the Washington Post newspaper, 1877-2004.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Cover-to-cover, full-color online archive includes every issue published.

Life Magazine
Digital version of all issues of LIFE magazine from 1935-1970. An invaluable resource for studying American culture during this time period.

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Search several historical newspapers at once, including The Nashville Tennessean, The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal, along with current papers from the Southeastern U.S.

Includes:
The Atlanta Constitution (historical)
Chicago Defender (historical)
Nashville Tennessean (historical and current)
New York Amsterdam News (historical)
New York Times (historical)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (historical)
The Wall Street Journal (historical)
The Washington Post (historical)
U.S. Southeast Newsstream (300 current titles)
Ethnic NewsWatch (39 historical titles)
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2014
Online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2014.
Sunday Times (London) Digital Archive, 1822-2006
More than 600,000 full-text searchable pages, including all supplements.

*Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1966, when both papers came under common ownership. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019
Complete online facsimile edition of every issue through 2019.

Guides to Newspapers on the Web

Newsmap
OnlineNewspapers.com
The Paperboy.Com
Newspaper Map
Google News Archive
Newsy: Multisource Video News Analysis
more... less...

"Newsy.com is an online video news site unlike any other - we highlight the nuances in reporting from media outlets around the world."
AllPolitics (CNN)

Historical Newspapers & Additional Materials -- Library Microfilm

All Newspapers on Microfilm

Walker Library holds extensive collections of newspapers on microfilm. The microfilm collection is located on the second floor, arranged by reel numbers. Assistance in finding, loading and using microfilm is available all hours the library is open. The collections are arranged by title and by subject.

The microtext collection also contains books, articles, and other library materials preserved in a microtext format (e.g., microfilm) searchable by subject.