Walker Library: Vietnam War: Digital Collections

Topical Digital Collections

Foreign Relations of the United States
This series provides the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The site is organized by administration; volumes covering Vietnam can be found under Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon.
National Archives: OPA (Online Public Access)
Online access to thousands of documents related to the Vietnam War.

Nixon Years, The
Files from the National Archives relating to the Nixon Administration, 1969-1974.

The Pentagon Papers
The Pentagon Papers, officially titled "Report of the Office of the Secretary of Defense Vietnam Task Force", was commissioned by Secretary of Defense Robert McNamara in 1967. This complete version of the report includes approximately 7,000 declassified pages.
Presidential Recordings Program
(University of Virginia) This site offers multiple options for accessing presidential recordings: a search box, featured clips (Perspectives on Gulf of Tonkin, 1964), and the exhibits page (http://millercenter.org/presidentialclassroom/exhibits#vietnam).

Sixties, The: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 - 1974
Clicking on "Vietnam War" in the themes column retrieves 5800 documents.
See product brochure (pdf)
Download bibliography (Excel file)

The Vietnam Collection (CIA)
Vietnam War Era Ephemera Collection
This collection includes pamphlets, posters, manifestos, newsletters, booklets, and open letters created by Seattle-area and University of Washington manifestations of American civil rights and protest movements of the late 1960s and 1970s.
The Vietnam War: Stories from the Veterans History Project
Virtual Vietnam Archive
The Virtual Archive currently includes finding aids for all Vietnam Archive collections, and over 4 million pages of materials online, including documents, photographs, slides, negatives, audio and moving image recordings, artifacts, and oral histories.
Declassified CIA Documents on the Vietnam War

Tennesseans in the Vietnam War

Christopher D. Ammons Collection (Tennessee State Library and Archives) documents his military service during two tours in Vietnam (1967-1970). The collection includes wartime photographs of Vietnam, letters from the front, military documents typical of the period, and souvenirs collected by Ammons from his time “in country.”

About Us

Vietnam War: Digital Collections

Topical Digital Collections

Tennesseans in the Vietnam War