Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online digital collections
Southeastern Native American Documents, 1763-1842
contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States from the collections of the University of Georgia Libraries, the University of Tennessee at Knoxville Library, the Frank H. McClung Museum, the Tennessee State Library and Archives, the Tennessee State Museum, the Museum of the Cherokee Indian, and the LaFayette-Walker County Library.
Doris Duke Collection
The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History online provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes
::: American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection :::
This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.
Tribal Writers Digital Library | Sequoyah Research Center | UALR
The Native Writers Digital Text Project brings the works of Native poets and writers of fiction and other prose to readers world wide.
The one hundred and eighty-eight photographs sent by John C.H. Grabill to the Library of Congress for copyright protection between 1887 and 1892 are thought to be the largest surviving collection of this gifted, early Western photographer's work. Grabill's remarkably well-crafted, sepia-toned images capture the forces of western settlement in South Dakota and Wyoming and document its effects on the area's indigenous communities.
In the Beginning Was the Word
The Russian Church and Native Alaskan Cultures
Paul A. W. Wallace Papers
The Paul A. W. Wallace Papers include correspondence to and from 20th century anthropologists, ethnologists, historians, linguists, and psychiatrists and provides a wealth of resources for the study of technological and social change, American Indians, culture and personality, revitalization movements, the anthropological study of religion, and the cultural and biological bases of behavior. The collection includes extensive correspondence with fellow scholars and Indian consultants, interviews with Indians of the Six Nations Reserve in Canada, and notes and photographs collected during his fieldwork among the Indians of New York State, Pennsylvania, and Canada.
Images of Native Americans
Researching American Indians and Alaska Natives
Tips and Tools for Undergraduate, Graduate, and Postgraduate Researchers Researching for your paper, prospectus, thesis, or dissertation? Records related to the history of American Indians and Alaska Natives are organized at the National Archives (NARA) by the Federal agency that created them, and may be housed at one or more NARA facilities across the U.S.
Library of Congress
Assimilation through Education
Photos, early film footage, federal government reports, cartoons, and maps tell the complex tale of the efforts to assimilate Native Americans through education.
More information at Native Americans: Primary Sources
Books at Walker library
Native American Autobiography by
Call Number: 970.00497 N21k
Publication Date: 1994-10-15
I Have Spoken by
Call Number: 970.1 Ar5i 1991
Publication Date: 1971-01-01