Walker Library: EXSC 4000: Research Sem. in Exercise Science: Getting Started

Article Databases - Best Bets

These databases will get you started. Please see the Articles and Databases tab for a more comprehensive list.

Sports Medicine & Education Index (formerly Physical Education Index) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and trade literature for physical education, recreation, fitness, etc., 1970-present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracting, and fulltext for journals in the sciences and social sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed literature and conference proceedings in Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Technology, Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities.
Video Tutorials
Content Coverage Guide
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles from international biomedical journals, 1949 to present, with full-text for 1,460 journals.
What's the difference between MEDLINE and PubMed?
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's scholarly article search with full text links back to MTSU subscription resources.

Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for topics including athletic training, health promotion, physical education, kinesiology, exercise physiology, nutritional science, and more.
Extensive collection of high-quality video for the study of disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, special populations, fitness and health assessment, medical fitness, exercise adherence, sport science, worksite wellness, and much more.
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video is an essential resource or a variety of programs, including athletic training, health promotion, physical education, Kinesiology/human movement, exercise physiology, nutritional science, sports medicine, sports science, and physical therapy
Title List (Excel file)

Choose one journal from the box below and browse recent tables of contents to see what articles have been published. Repeat this with several different journals on the list.
When you have identified a potential topic, search within several of the journals to see what else has been published on your topic in these journals.
Expand your search to other journals. You can start by searching in JEWL Search and limiting your results to "Scholarly/Peer Reviewed/Academic" items.
Try searching in several different article databases. Different databases will return different results.

This is a selected list of peer reviewed journals available at MTSU. Coverage dates and format vary by title.

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

James E. Walker Library

615-904-8528 (office)

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Databases - New and Trial, Dissertations & Theses, Health & Human Performance, Human Sciences, Leisure, Sport, and Tourism Studies, Nutrition & Food Science, Physician Assistant Studies, Public and Community Health, Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology