It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JOUR 3520 - Special Topics: Music Journalism (Matheson): Home
Library resources helpful for researching stories.
Walker Library maintains subscriptions to several online databases that may be helpful. When accessing these resources from off campus, you may be required to enter your Pipeline or MTMail username/password.
Full text, primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries.
Digital copies of complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000. Subject coverage includes Film industry, Music business, Rock and pop, Jazz and blues, Theater, Television, and Radio. Publication Coverage and Detailed Description
Popular music chart data from around the world. Updated weekly.
Music ID contains popular music chart data from around the world, including the US, UK, Europe, South America, and Asia. It delivers access to chart data from Billboard, Official Chart Company, IFPI, Media Control, ARIA and more. Includes archival data. Updated weekly.
Read more about Music ID.
Music ID contents information How to Use Music ID
Free Resources on the Web
RoJaRo: "The world's largest alternative music magazine index"
RoJaRo is an index only and does not provide access to the full text of articles. If you need help locating a copy of an article listed in RoJaRo, please contact Grover Baker.
Nashville and the middle Tennessee area have been served through the years by two primary newspapers, The Tennessean and the Nashville Banner. The Daily News Journal is Murfreesboro's daily paper.
The Tennessean The Tennessean, Nashville and middle Tennessee's current daily morning newspaper, can be searched and accessed through Walker Library in several ways:
Current hard copy (print) issues are kept in the Periodicals Lounge located on the 1st Floor
Back issues, dating back to August 1907, are on microfilm and may be found on the 2nd Floor in the Maker Space.
Music Row Magazine: Check with Center's staff for holdings
Nashville Scene: Check with the Center's staff for holdings
Pollstar and PollstarPro
Pollstar is the the concert and touring industry's leading trade publication, with a new issue published weekly. Current and back issues, from June 2003 to present, are located in the Periodicals section on the 1st floor of Walker Library.
PollstarPro is an online database providing all of the content found in the Pollstar weekly issues, including tour schedules, concert ticket sales, music industry contact directories, and trade news. Walker Library has a single-user subscription, so only one person can be logged into the library's account at a time, and the database may only be used within the library. Ask for the username/password at the Reference Desk.
The Center for Popular Music has two additional logins for PollstarPro. Ask Center staff for assistance.
Added content from Pollstar, a concert industry trade magazine, including tour schedules, concert ticket sales, music industry contact directories, and trade news. NOTE: If you see a "Page Not Found" message when you arrive at the Pollstar website, you are still logged in. Simply enter your search in the search box or select an option from the navigation menu. This is a one-user subscription. If a second user logs in to Pollstar, the first user will be disconnected. If this happens, DO NOT use the "sign in" link at the top of the Pollstar page. Return to the library website and use this link to open Pollstar again.
Content includes concert tour schedules, ticket sales results, music industry contact directories, trade news and unique specialized data services. Tour histories that require purchase are not available through this service. Print copies of Pollstar are available at Walker Library.