Walker Library: SW 4580 Social Work Practice 1: Statistics & Data

Social work

America's Young Adults: special issue, 2014

http://www.childstats.gov/

Statistics about children

The Institute for Child, Youth and Family Policy (ICYFP) at Brandeis University’s Heller School for Social Policy and Management has launched the first nationally comprehensive, interactive online database for tracking and analyzing the wellbeing and equity of U.S. children across racial and ethnic groups.

Adoptiion and foster care statistics
Child Trends databank
The Child Trends DataBank is an online resource for indicators of child and family well-being and associated measures. The DataBank includes close to 100 population-based measures, covering the domains of health and safety, child care and education, and behaviors linked to positive and negative well-being.
Child welfare information gateway, State Guides and Manuals
Links to State publications that describe child welfare services and provide guidance to professionals and families.
Child Welfare Research
Children's Bureau research on child welfare issues includes a series of annual Child Welfare Outcomes Reports to Congress. These reports include data from AFCARS and NCANDS.
Childstats.gov
This website offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
Kids Count Census Data Online
A national and state-by-state effort to track that status of children in the U.S.
Progress for Children UNICEF
Yearly reports on a different topic each year with statistical appendices.
State of the world's children
Youth Indicators 2011 from the National Center for Education Statistics
Child welfare outcomes report data
Child welfare information gateway
State of American's children 2014
from Children's defense fund
Families and living arrangements
The Condition of Education - Population Characteristics - Demographics - Children Living in Poverty - Indicator May (2014)

statistics on aging

AARP Research on Ageing
Administration on Aging-Statistics
The information in this section of the AoA website brings together a wide variety of statistical information about this growing population.
Social Security: Research, statistics and policy analysis
AARP Tennessee State Data
Census data for age and sex

Policy Map

PolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool. Use it for:

research (demographic and socioeconomic),
market studies,
business planning,
site selection,
grant applications,
impact analysis.

Data can be presented as maps, tables, charts, and reports. PolicyMap YouTube tutorials

http://www.policymap.com/blog/tutorial/

General Statistics Sources

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics portal with quantitative data from over 18,000 sources for media, business, finance, politics, and other topics. Export data in a variety of formats for direct use in presentations or reports.
Data is categorized into 21 market sectors. Data sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Statista help and FAQ's
More about Statista data sources
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, 1878-present.
User instructions available on ProQuest's LibGuide.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Quantitative facts of American history. Registration recommended.

Data.census.gov
The Census Bureau's official site for demographic data.

Tennessee Statistics

Tennessee Demographics of Low-Income Children
Tennessee's Early Childhood Profile
Fact sheets from the NCCP
Basic facts on children, adolescents, substance abuse, juvenile justice.
Tennessee Department of Human Services
Statistics available from the Tennessee Department of Health
Child welfare information gateway, State Guides and Manuals
Links to State publications that describe child welfare services and provide guidance to professionals and families.
Search Official US State Web Sites
Search for state, county and city data
Diversity datakids.org
The Institute for Child, Youth and Family Policy (ICYFP) at Brandeis University’s Heller School for Social Policy and Management has launched the first nationally comprehensive, interactive online database for tracking and analyzing the wellbeing and equity of U.S. children across racial and ethnic groups.

Statistics -- Social Work

http://www.pewresearch.org/data/

Pew Research

data.census.gov
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic information
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Digest of Education Statistics (NCES)
A yearly compilation of information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics. Online archives back to 1990.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
NCES Fast Facts (National Center for educational statistics)
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
General Social Survey
The General Social Survey (GSS) conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor societal change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations.
The Urban Institute
Our mission: the Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government.
Institution for Innovation in Social Policy
The Index of Social Health, the centerpiece of the Institute’s work, monitors the social well-being of American society. It has been released annually by the Institute (formerly the Fordham Institute for Innovation in Social Policy) since 1987.
Social Science data on the net
Search or browse our listing of 363 Internet sites of numeric Social Science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more.
National Elder Mistreatment Study
American Gaming Association
Statistics on Casinos, etc.
National Coalition for the Homeless
Basic fact sheets, issues, populations.
Homeland security statistics/immigration

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Quantitative facts of American history. Registration recommended.

U.S. Census Marriage and Divorce
Census: Poverty
National survey of sexual health and behavior
ARDA
Association of Religious data archive
Families and living arrangements
Disability statistics
National institute of Mental health
PIT and HIC data on homelessness
National Alliance to end homlessness
Proquest international datasets
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) Home Page, a part of the U.S. Department of Education
Race in America: Tracking 50 Years of Demographic Trends | Pew Research Center’s Social & Demographic Trends Project
Includes comparison of household income for ethnic groups
Black Demographics.com

Statistics on immigration

Children of immigrants data tool
The Urban Institute Children of Immigrants Data Tool is an interactive tool designed to generate charts and tables with indicators on children, age 0 to 17, for the United States,, the 50 states, the District of Columbia and the top 100 metro areas using data from the American Community Survey
Migration Policy Institute
U.S. and global migration trends. All kinds of data on U.S. immigration by state and Metropolitan areas.
Data & Statistics from Homeland Security
Child Welfare and Migration
Tool kits for working with immigrant families, free articles on migration and child welfare

Data

Pew research
SAMHSA Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive
National Survey of Family Growth
The National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG) gathers information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men's and women's health
Health, Nutrition and Population Data and Statistics from the World Bank
Open access directories and indexes for Social Work

Crime and violence statistics

Social Explorer

Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand social change

About Us

SW 4580 Social Work Practice 1: Statistics & Data