Walker Library: SW 4580 Social Work Practice 1: International social work info

World Social Work day

International federation of Social Workers

The International Federation of Social Workers (IFSW) is a global organisation striving for social justice, human rights and social development through the promotion of social work, best practice models and the facilitation of international cooperation.

International Council of Social Work
The International Council on Social Welfare (ICSW) was founded in Paris in 1928. It is a non-governmental organization which represents national and local organizations in more than 70 countries throughout the world.
International Experiences for Practicing Social Workers
NASW

Books

Social Development in Social Work by Richard Hugman
Call Number: 361.3 H8749s
ISBN: 9781138017634
Publication Date: 2015-07-22
Routledge International Handbook of Race, Class and Gender by Shirley Jackson (Editor)
Call Number: 305 R757
ISBN: 0415632714
Publication Date: 2014-07-22
Routledge International Handbook on Hate Crime by Nathan Hall (Editor); Abbee Corb (Editor); Paul Giannasi (Editor); John Grieve (Editor)
Call Number: 364.15 R7657
ISBN: 0415818907
Publication Date: 2014-07-22

NationMaster

Search for statistics quickly by Catagory, Country, Top stats or Groups

NationMaster
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources. Using the forms below, you can get maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.

We want to be the web’s one-stop resource for country statistics on everything from obesity to murders

Plan International

Plan is a child rights organization working with communities in many countries to alleviate child poverty so that children can realize their full potential.

Research, policy & Insight Publications

Databases

Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to journals in all areas of social work and human services.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext for social sciences literature, 1982 to present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes international scholarly literature in sociology (journal articles, dissertations, books, papers, etc.)
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Online mapping tool for demography and historical census data.

Download or create interactive maps and tables using 220 years of demographic data with over 20,000 socio-economic indicators between 1790 and the present. Includes all decennial censuses, American Community Surveys, and two religion surveys.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text (page images) for back issues of various leading scholarly journals.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracting, and fulltext for journals in the sciences and social sciences.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts for journals in social work, human services, social welfare, etc.

Eldis
Welcome to the Eldis website. Our aim is to share the best in development policy, practice and research. Browse the latest editorially selected content from over 7,500 development organizations - all available free to download. Share your work with over 80,000 development practitioners.
Campbell Collaboration
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions in Crime & Justice, Education, International Development, and Social Welfare.
Campbell Collaboration resource center
The Resource Center aims to provide researchers, policy makers, and others who are interested or involved in our work, with helpful resources such as policy documents, guidelines, links and tutorials. It features content that has been developed by Campbell, as well as useful external resources
Campbell library of Systematic Reviews

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Over 175,000 pages from SAGE research methods books, journals, and reference material with advanced search features and specially commissioned videos.

Explore methods concepts to design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct research, and write up findings.

Overview video 2min 47sec

Getting Started video 4min 28sec

See the SAGE Research Methods Research Guide for more information.

Title List (pdf)

Journal of European Social Policy

Global social Policy--most read full=text articles

Youth Justice An international Journal

World Bank statistics and reports

Open Knowledge Reposity from World Bank
Amazing amount of information from economics to child health. Books, reports, journal articles, policy papers, studies, opinion surveys. Publications that are peer reviewed are identified by an icon at the top of the record.

Surveys

World Values Survey
Survey measures social values. The WVS has over the years demonstrated that people’s beliefs play a key role in economic development, the emergence and flourishing of democratic institutions, the rise of gender equality, and the extent to which societies have effective government.
Violence against women: an EU-wide survey

U.S. Department of State

Subject Guide

Sharon Parente

Email Me

Contact:

Walker Library 266F

(615) 898-2549

Subjects: Advertising, Anthropology, Business, Business Communication & Education, Communication Studies, Distance Learning, Entrepreneurship, Journalism, Marketing, Mass Communication, Media Arts (Electronic Media Communication), Public Relations, Social Work, Sociology, Statistics & Data

International Social Work

International statistics from United Nations

Poverty data from the Word Bank
United Nations statistical division
Statisitical information about many topics including social indicators, population, housing.
Progress for Children UNICEF
Yearly reports on a different topic each year with statistical appendices.
UNICEF statistics on Women and children
UNESCO Institute for Statistics Culture
UNData
Search 34 databases and 60 million records. Use the Country data services to find statistics for individual countries.
Databases and sets from Undata
Researching Children's Rgihts Globally in the Digital Age

Non-profit organizations

Guidestar
GuideStar is the world's largest source of information on nonprofit organizations.

About Us

SW 4580 Social Work Practice 1: International social work info