Walker Library: ENGL 1020: Research & Argumentative Writing: Home

Getting Started

If you're just starting out, check out the JEWL Search and the Best Bets below. Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) is a great place to find and explore topics. Use the JEWL Search box below to find a variety of resources on any topic. Statista is great for finding charts, graphs, and data on virtually any topic. If you have any questions, check out the Ask a Librarian tab. Watch some short videos about using these resources.

Books, Scholarly Articles, and More

Best Bets for Research in English 1020

Use these along with the JEWL Search above to find resources on a variety of topics.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Resource covering today's most relevant social issues in multiple media formats. Includes opinion pieces.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on leading national policy issues, 1991-present.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics portal with quantitative data from over 18,000 sources for media, business, finance, politics, and other topics. Export data in a variety of formats for direct use in presentations or reports.
Data is categorized into 21 market sectors. Data sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Statista help and FAQ's
More about Statista data sources
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's scholarly article search with full text links back to MTSU subscription resources.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Fulltext multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, periodicals and other reports, 19th century to present.
Academic Search Ultimate is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 13,600 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 9,000. Searchable cited references are provided for selected titles
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text (page images) for back issues of various leading scholarly journals.

This video covers the basics of using the JEWL Search in just a little over a minute (1:10).

Learn how to use the JEWL Search to find research materials on any topic. We cover source types, finding peer-reviewed articles, and how to narrow your topic (length: 6:14).

Textbooks and Course Materials

The Ask: A More Beautiful Question
The open-access textbook for ENGL 1020: Research & Argumentative Writing
Course Reserves for ENGL 1020
Textbooks and other required readings are searchable by course number or instructor name. Some readings are online, while others must be used in the library.

Related Research Guides

Current & Controversial Issues
Careers
Biographical Sources
Country Profiles
Encyclopedias & Almanacs
For background information
Evaluating Resources
Credibility & Bias, Types of Articles

About Us

ENGL 1020: Research & Argumentative Writing: Home