Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

Internal Page, Warden Collection: Finding Archival Materials

Walker Library / Special Collections / Warden Collection

The Margaret Lindsley Warden Collection for Equine Studies

The task of finding materials relevant to your research can be daunting to first-time and infrequent users of archives.  But every collection held by an archive will have a corresponding finding aid, which is the primary resource for identifying collections you want to examine and the location of specific items within the collection.  Please read this brief finding aid explanation: A guide to using archival finding aids in Special Collections.

How to Find Materials in the Collection


How to Find Archival Materials

Please note that locating and retrieving archival materials may be time-consuming for Special Collections staff. Locating and retrieving photographs is especially time-consuming.

Pamphlets, photographs, research files, letters, and similar materials are organized by provenance, whereby the basic arrangement scheme derives, first, from the collector who assembled the materials, and are further arranged by type, similarity of material, or some other logical concept. Researchers seeking archival materials in the Warden Collection should initially consult our local finding aids listed below.

Please do not hesitate to ask Special Collections staff for assistance with archival materials. We realize many researchers are unfamiliar with provenance and archival organization.


Finding Aids and Complements